Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Access relationships window (97)

    I have an Access 97 database that refuses to show any relationships in the relationships window. The Documenter does the same thing i.e. it shows a blank page when I try to print a report of the relationships in the db. The relationships are still defined (I think) because when I define a new query on two tables that I know are related Access shows that link between the key fields in the query window. Does anyone know what causes this and, more importantly, how to fix it?

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access relationships window (97)

    In the relationships window, you can rightclick on a table and hide a table.
    If you see a table, you know having a relationship with a hidden table, rightclick on this table and click Show Direct. The hidden table will show up
    In the Menu, Relationships, Show All unhide the hidden tables.
    Does this solve your problem ?
    Francois

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access relationships window (97)-MULTI-Re: Access relationships window (97)

    Francois,
    Thanks very much for this reply. The problem is that no matter what table I show, even ones that I know should have relationships defined, no relationships show up. I'm beginning to think that the relationships have been lost somehow - the database was originally imported from another one and it may be that the problem arose then.
    Gordon

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Access relationships window (97)

    Did you click the "Show all Relationships" button on the Toolbar?
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access relationships window (97)

    Yes I did. I've also tried putting all tables into the Relationships window and showing "Direct" and "All". Nothing happens.
    This may not be relevant but the same database won't compile. When I choose "Debug|Compile..." in the VBE the menu option remains available. Normally when I compile a project the option becomes dimmed, indicating that the project is already compiled. Could this have anything to do with the relationships problem?

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    SC, USA
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access relationships window (97)

    It does sound like you'll need to create the relationships again. As far as the queries showing a relationship, Access will attempt to automatically create links between tables in a query with identical key fields(i.e. Order_Idx in more than one table). This could explain why some of your queries show the tables as linked. <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Access relationships window (97)

    You might try using a decompile first to see if you can get rid of whatever is messing you up. That can clean up a lot of miscellaneous code problems. See <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showthreaded.pl?Cat=&Board=acc&Number=44732&page=& view=&sb=&o=&vc=1#Post44732>this post</A> if you need help with decompile.
    Charlotte

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access relationships window (97)

    Charlotte, That helped perfectly with my compile problem. You're a genius!
    Gordon

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access relationships window (97)

    I think you're right, willyboy - I've just realised what's happening in the query window - Access is proposing joins based on the fact that the field names are the same. Oh well...
    Gordon

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Access relationships window (97)

    Are you sure the relationships were ever defined? What happens when you try to establish a relationship between 2 tables. Will it let you? After afterwards, can you see the relationship?
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Access relationships window (97)

    No, I've just encountered the same problems, so I already know some of the answers. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> Databases sometimes get into a partially compiled state that can drive you crazy. The only cure is to force the whole thing to decompile so you can start over again.
    Charlotte

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access relationships window (97)

    I've come to the conclusion that the relationships have been "lost" in some way. The objects in this database were imported from another one and I can only assume that my client did not import the relationships, without being aware of the fact. Thanks to you Mark and everyone else who has helped me with this. <img src=/S/bravo.gif border=0 alt=bravo width=16 height=30>

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    216
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access relationships window (97)

    You mentioned importing the table from another DB.
    When you are importing tables you have the possibility of NOT importing the relations between the tables.
    I think that happened, resulting in importing the tables in your database without any relationships between them.
    An yes, Access gives relationships in queries based on names (can be rather anoying also!).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •