Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I've been developing Access apps for over 10 years and this is the first time this happened.

I have 2 db files, 1 for the data and 1 for everything else. I usually have them both open so I can go back and forth making modifications to both. Just today, when running some form code that runs a query on data in the data db, I got the following error message:

"The database has been placed in a state by user 'admin' on machine 'Inspiron-8600' that prevents it from being opened or locked."

The app is written using Access 2002. Sometimes I inadvertintly open it and make mods in 2003 but this has never been an issue before. Don't know if that could be related to the problem.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    lance

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks
    This has been "standard" behavior since Access 2000 - when you start editing the design of a database object, you lock the database exclusively, so other databases cannot link to it. To solve the problem, save the design changes, then close and reopen the database.

I guess you've been lucky until now.

Star Lounger
    Thanks

You must have misunderstood my post. Sorry if I was not clear enough.

Since version 2000 Access prevented you from editing objects if another copy of the same db was open.

That is not the case here. I'm talking about 2 different db's that have linked tables between them. It always let me have the front end db as well as the back end data db open and I could make changes to either without issue - (providing the specific object being modified was not open at the time in the other db).

Actually, since I placed the original post, I repaired and comprressed both dbs using Access 2002 and that seems to have corrected the problem. I currently have both dbs open and I've been making changes to both. I'm smiling once again.

Thanks,
    Lance

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks
    I apologize for misreading your post. Glad the problem has been solved.

Star Lounger