Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    How come there are a couple items (system shortcuts) that show up on the All Programs Menu that cannot seemingly be pinned to the Start Menu or even moved?

    Most all other programs can be pinned or not to the task bar or start menu,, and if they are pinned to the start menu, they show up in the top section of the menu. But some shortcuts, Windows Update and Default Programs are two, that have no choice to pin or not in the context menu, and can't be dragged or moved to the top of the Start Menu or the Task Bar.

    Is this by design, and if so, why?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    [quote name='CWBillow' post='773626' date='04-May-2009 10:34']How come there are a couple items (system shortcuts) that show up on the All Programs Menu that cannot seemingly be pinned to the Start Menu or even moved?

    Most all other programs can be pinned or not to the task bar or start menu,, and if they are pinned to the start menu, they show up in the top section of the menu. But some shortcuts, Windows Update and Default Programs are two, that have no choice to pin or not in the context menu, and can't be dragged or moved to the top of the Start Menu or the Task Bar.

    Is this by design, and if so, why?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow[/quote]

    Is this for the beta or RC?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='773630' date='04-May-2009 08:59']Is this for the beta or RC?

    Joe[/quote]

    Joe, it's done this on both that I saw -- build 7000 and bund 7100.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    It is BY design at this time

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='773638' date='04-May-2009 10:04']It is BY design at this time[/quote]

    OK, thanks Dave.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Here is what I found
    All Control Panel applets can no longer be pinned directly to taskbar, and
    that is by design. You can however pin Control Panel, and then pin Windows
    Update to its jumplist. You can also force pinning it to Start menu by
    drag-n-dropping.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='773749' date='04-May-2009 16:51']Here is what I found[/quote]

    Ah...that's cool.

    Thanks, Dave.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •