Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: XP question

  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    How would I know if my XP OS is set up as NTFS or FAT32?
    Catz

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Check out the Properties of the disk!
    Attached Images Attached Images

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,421
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='pauliez' post='774133' date='07-May-2009 17:24']How would I know if my XP OS is set up as NTFS or FAT32?[/quote]
    A really geeky way would be to check if you have any file larger in size than 4 GB on the disk. "The maximum possible size for a file on a FAT32 volume is 4 GB minus 1 byte (2^32−1 bytes)."
    If you do, then you have NTFS.
    If you don't, the question is moot - you could have either.

    (I admit that Dave's way is probably quicker...!)
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='BATcher' post='774138' date='07-May-2009 23:49']A really geeky way would be to check if you have any file larger in size than 4 GB on the disk. "The maximum possible size for a file on a FAT32 volume is 4 GB minus 1 byte (2^32−1 bytes)."
    If you do, then you have NTFS.
    If you don't, the question is moot - you could have either.

    (I admit that Dave's way is probably quicker...!)[/quote]

    Thanks guys.

    I checked mine with the "C" drive prop. and I have an NTFS set up on the whole drive.

    Now If I wanted to change that to FAT32 would I have to completely reformat the "C" drive?

    Or is there a way to partition some of the empty space on the drive to be used as FAT32 without disturbing the NTFS part?
    Catz

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='pauliez' post='774257' date='08-May-2009 10:16']Now If I wanted to change that to FAT32 would I have to completely reformat the "C" drive?[/quote]
    If you want it all FAT32, yes.

    Or is there a way to partition some of the empty space on the drive to be used as FAT32 without disturbing the NTFS part?
    You could use a tool such as Partition Magic, but for that sort of money, it would be cheaper to pick up another (small) hard disk. (Note the size limitations here.)

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='pauliez' post='774257' date='08-May-2009 05:16']Now If I wanted to change that to FAT32 would I have to completely reformat the "C" drive?

    Or is there a way to partition some of the empty space on the drive to be used as FAT32 without disturbing the NTFS part?[/quote]
    Gosh, I wouldn't want to change an NTFS partition to FAT32, not in this day and age.

    If you don't want to get "under the covers" to add another drive, I've found Paragon Partition Manager to be reliable ever since I switched from the Acronis product. It's also "only" $40 and (I think) worthwhile to have a 3rd party partitioning tool in your kit.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='774275' date='08-May-2009 17:55']Gosh, I wouldn't want to change an NTFS partition to FAT32, not in this day and age.

    If you don't want to get "under the covers" to add another drive, I've found Paragon Partition Manager to be reliable ever since I switched from the Acronis product. It's also "only" $40 and (I think) worthwhile to have a 3rd party partitioning tool in your kit.[/quote]

    Thanks Guys.

    My questions have been answered.
    Catz

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    There is a version of partition manager available here http://www.v3.co.uk/vnunet/downloads/22408...rtition-manager

    Haven't tried it so YMMV
    John (Unreconstructed Jacobite)

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='jonWallace' post='774331' date='08-May-2009 11:24']There is a version of partition manager available here[/quote]
    This is unbelievable! These jokers want $40 bucks for me to go from version 9 Pro to version 10 Pro and they're "giving away" some kind of aberration of that version? I'm very disappointed in the Paragon product now and I think I'll stick to my version 9 for awhile!

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='774383' date='08-May-2009 15:42']This is unbelievable! These jokers want $40 bucks for me to go from version 9 Pro to version 10 Pro and they're "giving away" some kind of aberration of that version? I'm very disappointed in the Paragon product now and I think I'll stick to my version 9 for awhile![/quote]

    The free express version is fairly limited. From the link web page:

    "This free software is designed for home users who just want to create or re-size existing partitions.Paragon Partition Manager 10 Express doesn’t contain much more functionality, although it does ship with recovery disc builder, so you can fix your machine if you experience problems partitioning a drive.

    If you want to do more than create a new partition or resize existing partitions, you’ll need to step up to Paragon Partition Manager 10 Personal, which will delete or copy partitions, migrate drive contents to a new drive, perform a simple drive backup, enable you to create a multi-boot system (for multiple OS use) and much more."

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Oh and just for completeness.

    When I had my Hard drive problem in February, I used Gparted live CD for my partitioning needs...
    John (Unreconstructed Jacobite)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •