Thanks
    I am totally new to VB (Express) and it may be that what I have is no problem, but even then it is strange.

In trying to install VB 2008 Express, two of the optional items are "SQL Server 2005 Express" and "Silverlight runtime." It may be that I don't need these, but since they were there, I thought I could at least take a look.

The attached pic shows the two as available additions. They refuse to either download or install. I can download the SQL Server 2005 (and 2008) as standalones, but not through this screen. And if I install either separately, it still shows as missing when I go through Add components.

Do I need either? If so, why won't they download and/or install, and/or why doesn't the install recognize them as present if installed outside of the VB 2008 installation process?

Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    Attached Images Attached Images
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    Moved this thread here as it is about VB!

Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by CWBillow' post='774445 View Post
    ...why won't they download and/or install, and/or why doesn't the install recognize them as present if installed outside of the VB 2008 installation process?
    No idea. Could it be related to installation privileges (if you run Vista/Windows 7)?

Thanks