Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Reseda, California, USA
    Posts
    216
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi -
    Like the new layour -
    Need to know the setting for making the full screen the default for all clicks.
    Thanks
    raygee@dslextreme

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    You ask about "the setting for making the full screen the default for all clicks" - is this in the Lounge, or in general?
    And what exactly do you mean by that?

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='rabee' post='775767' date='18-May-2009 15:35']Need to know the setting for making the full screen the default for all clicks.[/quote]
    Are you talking about The Lounge or all web browsing? I think the setting for full screen (maximized) is a function of your browser and not The Lounge or the web in general. If you maximize your browser window it should stay that way unless you change it.

    Do we need more info?

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='775778' date='18-May-2009 21:01']... If you maximize your browser window it should stay that way unless you change it.[/quote]

    Except that Internet Explorer usually doesn't remember the full screen setting, but if you drag the window until it covers the screen, it'll remember that...
    John (Unreconstructed Jacobite)

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='jonWallace' post='775860' date='19-May-2009 06:51']Except that Internet Explorer usually doesn't remember the full screen setting, but if you drag the window until it covers the screen, it'll remember that...[/quote]
    Hmmm, that's strange - I run IE quite often (although Fx is my primary) and have had IE maximized for a long time and not had to do that manual method you describe. I'm still on IE7 here in XP so I'll pop over now to IE8 in Vista or Win7 RC and see what goes on there...

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='775861' date='19-May-2009 11:56']Hmmm, that's strange - I run IE quite often (although Fx is my primary) and have had IE maximized for a long time and not had to do that manual method you describe. I'm still on IE7 here in XP so I'll pop over now to IE8 in Vista or Win7 RC and see what goes on there...[/quote]

    No, I've had this problem since IE3. Hit the middle (maximise) widget, IE fills screen. Close it down and it's whatever size it was before you started (it's most obvious if it only fills half screen to start with). If you drag the window about until it fits the screen, using the title bar and drag bit at bottom right, it remembers that.

    The first thing I do if I sit at a different PC is resize the screen manually in IE.
    John (Unreconstructed Jacobite)

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I'm going to move this thread to the browsers forum while we wait for RAYBEE to come back and/or other Loungers to comment.

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='rabee' post='775767' date='18-May-2009 21:35']Need to know the setting for making the full screen the default for all clicks.[/quote]
    Isn't there a trick to hold Ctrl while closing the maximised window (maximised by using the Maximise button) with the Close button (X, upper-right corner in Title bar) and it will then be remembered (until IE gets amnesia again, since it seems to involve IE more often than other).

    As for IE; I don't use IE on a daily basis, I tried this some months ago on another PC and it worked. As usual, when doing it, there should only be one instance of IE; one window open.

    And if there is something I don't like that are stretched windows that looks like maximised; if they are going to look like it, they should be it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •