Lounger
    Thanks
    I have been using MS Outlook for getting emails for several years. It has recently become more and more unhappy and unreliable - prone to shut down - "serious error" - at the drop of a hat.
    I regularly archive because someone said this was the right thing to do - but I do tend to keep emails rather than ditch them. When I start my pc and it has booted - it then takes about three minutes for MS Outlook to open up - sometimes it just doesn't open and I have to start again. Is there a simple fix for this.
    I know I can open up a new version of MSO - but then I'd not have my address book. I've been looking at Mozilla Thunderbird - seems good - but again there is the problem of transferring over the data.
    Suggestions welcome
    Whealie

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    [quote name='whealie' post='776087' date='20-May-2009 08:30']I have been using MS Outlook for getting emails for several years. It has recently become more and more unhappy and unreliable - prone to shut down - "serious error" - at the drop of a hat.
    I regularly archive because someone said this was the right thing to do - but I do tend to keep emails rather than ditch them. When I start my pc and it has booted - it then takes about three minutes for MS Outlook to open up - sometimes it just doesn't open and I have to start again. Is there a simple fix for this.
    I know I can open up a new version of MSO - but then I'd not have my address book. I've been looking at Mozilla Thunderbird - seems good - but again there is the problem of transferring over the data.
    Suggestions welcome
    Whealie[/quote]

1.) What version of Outlook?
    2.) What Outlook/Office service pack is installed?
    3.) Is Outlook up-to-date with pahces?
    4.) You mentioned archiving. Do you mean you use Outlook's Autoarchive feature?
    5.) How large is your PST file?

Joe
    Joe

Lounger
    Thanks