Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I recently tried to perform a System Restore before which I disabled AVG but it would not execute so I turned AVG back on yet (at start up) I get a warning telling me the computer is at resk because no firewall is active. Yes, I do have the Windows Firewall disabled so it does not conflict with AVG so is this the reason for the warning and seeing the AVG menu indicates all components are up to date and working OK, should I just ignore the warning? Regards Dave. [attachment=83879:AVG_Active.png]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='Silver Fox' post='776254' date='21-May-2009 05:13']I recently tried to perform a System Restore before which I disabled AVG but it would not execute so I turned AVG back on yet (at start up) I get a warning telling me the computer is at resk because no firewall is active. Yes, I do have the Windows Firewall disabled so it does not conflict with AVG so is this the reason for the warning and seeing the AVG menu indicates all components are up to date and working OK, should I just ignore the warning? Regards Dave.[/quote]

    The AVG software correctly notifies Windows when its firewall is operational. At that time the Windows firewall is disabled automatically. You do not need to disable it. In fact, by disabling the Windows firewall you are making yourself less secure. There is a time period during the boot process when the networking components are enabled but the AVG firewall is not yet initialized. Normally the Windows firewall will prevent intrusions but with the Windows firewall disabled you have no protection during that period.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    What version of AVG do you have installed? The free and Pro version do not include a firewall. The firewall only comes with the AVG Internet Security suite. I have AVG free installed and run the Windows Vista firewall without any problems or conflicts.
    Regards,
    PaulB

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='PaulB' post='776290' date='21-May-2009 17:02']What version of AVG do you have installed? The free and Pro version do not include a firewall. The firewall only comes with the AVG Internet Security suite. I have AVG free installed and run the Windows Vista firewall without any problems or conflicts.[/quote]

    Many thanks Joe & Paul, glad you chipped in Paul with that vital bit of info, I am only running AVG free edition so [being a novice] am surprised to read that it does not include a FW. I have enabled the Microsoft XP firewall so would appreciate some comment as to whether that is adequate or should I plump for the free one Virgin Media offer or even resort to the free Zone Alarm version. Incidentally, I relied on the latter for many years without any problems till a message informed me there was an updated version available but I discovered when clicking on the download tab that there was a fee involved so I uninstalled the previous version and resorted to the one that came with Microsoft XP. Hope that fills in some of the gaps but still wonder why the System Restore will not work!!! Regards Dave.
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I have been using the Free ZoneAlarm for many years and on different OS's. I am currently running it on all of my XP and Vista boxes and it seems to work real well.

    When there is a version out that will work on Windows 7, I will give it a try.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Silver Fox' post='776364' date='22-May-2009 02:21']Hope that fills in some of the gaps but still wonder why the System Restore will not work!!![/quote]
    You are running Windows XP at service pack level 2 or higher, aren't you?

    Then you ought to have seen the Windows Security Center warning you that you have no firewall running. As mentioned above, if you install a third-party firewall it will turn off the Windows firewall and report its status to Windows Security Center.

    But if no FW is running Security Center will alert you with a message in the Notification Area (the tray), if not the settings have been changed so that no warning message is given.

    So that is probably what you saw.

    As Dave said, the basic version of ZA is still around and still free. (Although I'm running with version 6.1.744.001.)

    BTW, if you have questions about SR why not ask them in an OS forum instead of General Office or here in Computer Security.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='Silver Fox' post='776364' date='21-May-2009 19:21']Many thanks Joe & Paul, glad you chipped in Paul with that vital bit of info, I am only running AVG free edition so [being a novice] am surprised to read that it does not include a FW. I have enabled the Microsoft XP firewall so would appreciate some comment as to whether that is adequate or should I plump for the free one Virgin Media offer or even resort to the free Zone Alarm version. Incidentally, I relied on the latter for many years without any problems till a message informed me there was an updated version available but I discovered when clicking on the download tab that there was a fee involved so I uninstalled the previous version and resorted to the one that came with Microsoft XP.[/quote]

    The Windows XP firewall does a good job of preventing access from the interent to your PC by unwanted programs. What is does NOT do is prevent an unapproved program on your PC from accessing the internet. All of the third party firewalls do this last step one way or another.

    IMO, for the majority of users the Windows firewall is fine. However, if you install a lot of software, visit many let's say non-major web sites, or receive and open many unexpected e-mail attachments you ought to consider a thrid party firewall.

    FWIW, on my Vista systems at home I only run the Windows firewall. On my XP system at home I still use the free ZA because my grandsons use that PC and I want a little extra protection just in case they happen to visit somewhere they shouldn't.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='776422' date='22-May-2009 13:13']The Windows XP firewall does a good job of preventing access from the interent to your PC by unwanted programs. What is does NOT do is prevent an unapproved program on your PC from accessing the internet. All of the third party firewalls do this last step one way or another.

    IMO, for the majority of users the Windows firewall is fine. However, if you install a lot of software, visit many let's say non-major web sites, or receive and open many unexpected e-mail attachments you ought to consider a thrid party firewall.

    FWIW, on my Vista systems at home I only run the Windows firewall. On my XP system at home I still use the free ZA because my grandsons use that PC and I want a little extra protection just in case they happen to visit somewhere they shouldn't.

    Joe[/quote]

    Thanks all....will see how things go....have just downloaded ZA free edition.... is there any Virgin Media customer that visits this site who can post any information about the firewall the said ISP offers as part of their package? Thanks Dave.
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='Silver Fox' post='776496' date='22-May-2009 22:04']Thanks all....will see how things go....have just downloaded ZA free edition.... is there any Virgin Media customer that visits this site who can post any information about the firewall the said ISP offers as part of their package? Thanks Dave.[/quote]
    Some Virgin Media customers used to complain about their offering (PCguard) at times, but I don't know how it performs recently. You'll probably find ZA easy to use.

    Ian

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='IanWilson' post='776577' date='23-May-2009 15:01']Some Virgin Media customers used to complain about their offering (PCguard) at times, but I don't know how it performs recently. You'll probably find ZA easy to use.

    Ian[/quote]


    Thanks Ian, I have never ventured to use the VM firewall & just yesterday I downloaded ZA (which incidentally I had previously used for many years till they seemed to introduce a fee so I stopped using it) however it seems to be working just fine having blocked numerous attempts to access my computer already. Cheers Dave.
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='Silver Fox' post='776617' date='23-May-2009 20:48']Thanks Ian, I have never ventured to use the VM firewall & just yesterday I downloaded ZA (which incidentally I had previously used for many years till they seemed to introduce a fee so I stopped using it) however it seems to be working just fine having blocked numerous attempts to access my computer already. Cheers Dave.[/quote]
    I'm glad you're happy with it. There has always been a free version as far as I know.

    Regards

    Ian

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •