Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    My Main Server at Home is Vista Ultimate PC.
    The Laptops are running on XP Home SP3 or Windows 2000 SP4

    Private Network File Sharing is set to Password Protected Sharing Off on Vista Machine.
    This happens WITH or WITHOUT Zone Alarm Firewalls Running
    The IP Addresses of all connecting laptops are entered in ZoneAlarm Extreme Security Firewall.

    There are 4 Laptops that can connect via wireless.
    They are ALL Members of the Same Named Workgroup.

    On ALL but 1 laptop, they Connect to the Server PC for File and Printer sharing
    without a prompt.

    On One Laptop which is running
    XP Home 2002 Edition with XP SP3,

    If trying to view files on Main Vista PC,
    then a prompt for Login name and Password is requested.
    None of the others do this.

    If I try to connect to this Laptop from the Main PC, then there is a direct connect with NO Prompt.

    All other XP and 2000 laptops connect for both files and printers with NO Prompt.

    I can see NO difference in the settings, so anyone any ideas why this might happen.

    I am sure it is something trivial, but it is driving me nuts.

    AW

    Oh Yes... There are Accounts on All PC's, and the Laptop Admin Account is also on the Main Vista PC.
    This happens regardless of whether the Laptop is logged as Admin or Otherwise.


    Andrew

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Do all of these machines have the SAME account name and PASSWORDS?
    Sounds like the ONE problem laptop has a different user account and/or password.

    When using Vista and now Windows 7 on a MIXED network, the network sharing seems to work much better (no Password prompt) in all of the machine do have the same account and passwords. YES, the user account passwords are required for this smooth action.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    The Problem Laptop has a user account that has the same name as one on the main Vista machine
    (but it didn't used to have, I added it recently to see if it would make any difference at all and it didn't)
    However it has a different password.
    Of the other Laptops...
    None have an account which is on the Vista PC.
    Two are XP and One 2000 Pro.
    The Account Names on these are NOT on the Master PC, BUT they still connect OK without any password prompts.
    You can see why it is driving me nuts
    Andrew

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I have found that "Sometime" when one connects across the net to a share and is asked for a password, the system remembers this and does not ask again. I have even seen it remember after a reboot.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='776371' date='22-May-2009 02:11']I have found that "Sometime" when one connects across the net to a share and is asked for a password, the system remembers this and does not ask again. I have even seen it remember after a reboot.[/quote]
    Be nice to know where it stores it then.
    Must be somewhere in the registry.
    I even changed the name of the computer BUT it made no difference.
    Just tested with another Vista Home laptop to see if it was OK,
    and it keeps prompting as well.
    When I connect, it offers to remember the password, BUT next time in it hasn't.

    Must be someone who know the answer.
    Andrew

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    [quote name='AndrewKKWalker' post='777206' date='27-May-2009 17:50']Be nice to know where it stores it then.
    Must be somewhere in the registry.
    I even changed the name of the computer BUT it made no difference.
    Just tested with another Vista Home laptop to see if it was OK,
    and it keeps prompting as well.
    When I connect, it offers to remember the password, BUT next time in it hasn't.

    Must be someone who know the answer.[/quote]

    1.) Is the machine you refer to as your main server a desktop or laptop?
    2.) Do ALL of the PCs main and others belong to the same workgroup?
    3.) Did you ever make the password the same one the problem PC & the main PC?

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='777210' date='28-May-2009 00:19']1.) Is the machine you refer to as your main server a desktop or laptop?
    2.) Do ALL of the PCs main and others belong to the same workgroup?
    3.) Did you ever make the password the same one the problem PC & the main PC?

    Joe[/quote]


    1.) Is the machine you refer to as your main server a desktop or laptop?

    ANS: Yes it is a Desktop Connected Directly to Router.

    2.) Do ALL of the PCs main and others belong to the same workgroup?

    Yes

    3.) Did you ever make the password the same one the problem PC & the main PC?

    Yes, and it made NO difference at all.
    In fact the ones that can connect ok have no similarity to main PC in either UID or PWD.


    I also tried turning off any firewalls, and that made no difference either.

    Andrew

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    [quote name='AndrewKKWalker' post='777245' date='27-May-2009 20:52']I also tried turning off any firewalls, and that made no difference either.[/quote]

    Did you check to make sure the Windows firewall was still off after disabling the ZA firewall?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='777248' date='28-May-2009 03:11']Did you check to make sure the Windows firewall was still off after disabling the ZA firewall?

    Joe[/quote]

    YEP
    Andrew

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    [quote name='AndrewKKWalker' post='777252' date='27-May-2009 21:54']YEP[/quote]

    On the problem PC, you could try changing the workgroup to some other name and then re-booting. Once re-booted, change it back to the original workgroup name and re-boot again. I really don't hold much hope but sometimes you just never know.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •