Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    I upgraded to IE8 (Win XP PRO), and I've noticed that sometimes there seem to be stray instances of IE8 in memory. In experimenting, I've found some interesting situations in opening/closing IE while I had the Task Manager open so I can see what is going on in memory.

    When I open IE8, actually 2 instances are created in memory! If while displaying a website I shift-click to open a link, another instance of IE8 is created in memory (as expected). But here's where it gets interesting. If I close this lastest window, the instance in memory doesn't go away immediately! In fact, it stays there for about a minute. If I happen to use shift-click again to open a window before that last instance actually removes itself from memory, it apparently opens the new window using the same instance of IE8 from before. I've surmised it does this to save time.

    Problems seems to occur, however, if I have opened a 2nd window using shift-click, and then close the first window! Those first instances of IE8 don't seem to want to go away. They seem to stay there even if I later close the 2nd window! Then often when I go again to open IE, I get 2 windows opening! I also have problems with clicking on a link and IE seems to freeze for awhile.

    I couldn't find anything in MSKB, but even finding IE8 was a challenge. Silly me, I looked in the product dropdown for Internet Explorer, but the only thing I could find was "Internet Explorer 6.0". Turns out you have to look for "Windows Internet Explorer 8.0"!
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Internet Explorer 8 uses multiple processor threads. The number of threads depends on your CPU / memory capacity and on the number of tabs you have opened.

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='776731' date='24-May-2009 15:57']Internet Explorer 8 uses multiple processor threads. The number of threads depends on your CPU / memory capacity and on the number of tabs you have opened.[/quote]
    OK, but why do they stay in memory long after I've closed-out the windows? And according to IE Help, opening a tab is not supposed to open another instance of IE.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    I don't know why the processes linger in memory.
    As far as I can tell, there's actually only one instance of IE8 running, but it uses several processor threads. Starting a new tab may or may not spawn a new process, depending on an algorithm intended to make optimal use of your CPU/memory. I cannot judge whether this works as intended.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='MarkLiquorman' post='776743' date='24-May-2009 17:03']OK, but why do they stay in memory long after I've closed-out the windows? And according to IE Help, opening a tab is not supposed to open another instance of IE.[/quote]

    It does not open a whole instance of IE. It opens another process to manage the tab. See IEBlog : IE8 and Loosely-Coupled IE (LCIE) for an overview of the IE8 process model.

    My best guess for why the process memory is not released would be that it is a timed function of the main IE8 process and takes a while for it to kick in.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    Unfortunately, that blog was way beyond my level of expertise.

    However, I think there is a problem, as it seems to relate to the order in which windows are closed. If I open IE (opens window 1), then shift-click a link (opens window 2), and then if I close window 2 then window 1, all is OK (IE totally unloads from memory). But if I closed window 1 first, then window 2, IE stays in memory; as far as I can tell, it doesn't unload regardless of how long you wait.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •