Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi all. Since I had my C drive wiped and XP 2003 Prof. installed the Internet Explorer tab is not on the Start Menu so I did a search & discovered it is shown in the "Programs Folder" as being installed & taking up 6.65 MB of space on the C drive. Yet in the "Control Panel" in Add/ Delete programes, it is listed but is said to be without size. If it is in fact there, where do I find the "e" symbol [tab] that was originally in the Start menu? I mainly use Firefox but occasionally might want to use IE. Thank you Dave. [attachment=83940:I_Explorer_8.png]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Start Windows Explorer.
    Navigate to the folder C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer.
    Locate the file iexplore.exe.
    Drag this file to the Start button in the lower left corner. Don't release the mouse button yet!
    Wait until the Start Menu pops up.
    If you want the shortcut in the Start menu, drag to the desired location, then release the mouse button.
    But if you want the shortcut in the Programs menu, move the mouse pointer to the (All) Programs menu.
    Wait until the Programs menu flies out.
    Drag the mouse pointer to the place where you want a shortcut, then release the mouse button.
    You'll now have a shortcut to iexplore.exe in the Start | (All) Programs menu.
    Right-click the shortcut and select Rename from the popup menu to change its name to (for example) Internet Explorer 8.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='776740' date='24-May-2009 22:38']Start Windows Explorer.
    Navigate to the folder C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer.
    Locate the file iexplore.exe.
    Drag this file to the Start button in the lower left corner. Don't release the mouse button yet!
    Wait until the Start Menu pops up.
    If you want the shortcut in the Start menu, drag to the desired location, then release the mouse button.
    But if you want the shortcut in the Programs menu, move the mouse pointer to the (All) Programs menu.
    Wait until the Programs menu flies out.
    Drag the mouse pointer to the place where you want a shortcut, then release the mouse button.
    You'll now have a shortcut to iexplore.exe in the Start | (All) Programs menu.
    Right-click the shortcut and select Rename from the popup menu to change its name to (for example) Internet Explorer 8.[/quote]

    Many thanks Hans. Simple & concise info but despite placing the said IE shortcut on the Start menu it will not open, please see attachments for details. Thank you again. [attachment=83942:On_Start_Menu.png][attachment=83943:Not_Open.png]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    You must have done someting not quite right, for the shortcut doesn't have the Internet Explorer icon.
    Right-click the shortcut.
    Select Properties from the popup menu.
    Enter the following in the Target box, including the quotes:

    "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"

    Click OK.
    Now try again.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='776750' date='24-May-2009 22:39']You must have done someting not quite right, for the shortcut doesn't have the Internet Explorer icon.
    Right-click the shortcut.
    Select Properties from the popup menu.
    Enter the following in the Target box, including the quotes:

    "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"

    Click OK.
    Now try again.[/quote]


    Hello Hans.... I can assure you I followed your instructions to the letter and the [ iexplore.exe ] icon in question did surprise me in that it does not look like the normal blue "e" with the yelow circle round it. (see fig 1.) Also, when I entered "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" into the Target box it rejected the string of data because it contains the following symbols " : \ . Awaiting further directions please.... Regards Dave. [attachment=83944:IE_icon_sign.jpg]
    [attachment=83947:iexplore.exe..jpg]
    [attachment=83948:still_no_go.jpg]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    It looks like you're trying to change the properties of iexplore.exe itself, not those of the shortcut in your start menu.
    But there is something wrong with your installation of IE8 - the file size 12 KB of iexplore.exe is much too small, and the name is wrong too - there shouldn't be a point after the name.
    I think you'll have to reinstall IE8. I'd ask whoever set up the PC for you to do this.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='776764' date='25-May-2009 00:12']It looks like you're trying to change the properties of iexplore.exe itself, not those of the shortcut in your start menu.
    But there is something wrong with your installation of IE8 - the file size 12 KB of iexplore.exe is much too small, and the name is wrong too - there shouldn't be a point after the name.
    I think you'll have to reinstall IE8. I'd ask whoever set up the PC for you to do this.[/quote]


    Thanks Hans ....I thought there must be something amiss with the installed version, maybe I'll just be content with Firefox rather than have to take the computer back to the shop. I get peeved of with having to unplug all the cables and plugs & hugging it round to the shop. Thanks for the info anyway. Regards Dave.
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='Silver Fox' post='776768' date='24-May-2009 20:32']maybe I'll just be content with Firefox rather than have to take the computer back to the shop.[/quote]
    I believe that you must have IE installed (and working properly) to use Windows Update.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Rebel' post='776835' date='25-May-2009 13:57']I believe that you must have IE installed (and working properly) to use Windows Update.[/quote]


    Three questions John..... On what grounds do you suggest I have IE installed and working properly; from the attachment -which shows the contents of the IE folder- Hans suggested I drag the one named "iexplore.exe" which as my relies explained I did but it did not work. Finally, if as you suggest IE is installed and working ok where is the icon with the "e" symbol on it & which icon can be dragged to the Start menu that can be used to access IE??? Regards Dave [attachment=83959:Which_Ic...o_select.jpg][attachment=83960:IE_icon_sign.jpg]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    By "I believe that you must have IE installed (and working properly)", John did not mean that IE *is* working properly on your PC. He meant that it is a requirement for using Windows Update, since Windows Update does not work properly with Firefox or other non-Microsoft browsers.

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='Silver Fox' post='776884' date='25-May-2009 15:52']Three questions John..... On what grounds do you suggest I have IE installed and working properly; from the attachment -which shows the contents of the IE folder- Hans suggested I drag the one named "iexplore.exe" which as my relies explained I did but it did not work. Finally, if as you suggest IE is installed and working ok where is the icon with the "e" symbol on it & which icon can be dragged to the Start menu that can be used to access IE??? Regards Dave[/quote]
    Read my post again Dave ("I believe that you must have IE installed (and working properly) to use Windows Update"). I agree with Hans that there certainly does seem to be something wrong with the installation of IE.

    You responded that "I'll just be content with Firefox rather than have to take the computer back to the shop". What I am saying is that in order to use many of the MS sites (including Windows Update) you must have IE installed and working properly. In other words, your alternative to continue WITHOUT IE doesn't seem (to me at least) to be a very wise option - unless of course you don't (and won't in future) require any updates from Microsoft.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='Silver Fox' post='776768' date='24-May-2009 20:32']Thanks Hans ....I thought there must be something amiss with the installed version, maybe I'll just be content with Firefox rather than have to take the computer back to the shop. I get peeved of with having to unplug all the cables and plugs & hugging it round to the shop. Thanks for the info anyway. Regards Dave.[/quote]
    Hans is correct. The file size of iexplore.exe is much too small. ( in my setup, it is 620k )
    You have a "blown" installation of IE8. Uninstall it. It should revert back to IE7.
    Then reinstall IE8.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='Silver Fox' post='776884' date='25-May-2009 15:52']....... Finally, if as you suggest IE is installed and working ok where is the icon with the "e" symbol on it & which icon can be dragged to the Start menu that can be used to access IE???[/quote]

    Dave,

    When you finally get IE installed and "working properly"(), if the IE icon does not appear on the Start menu, simply right click on the Start button, select Properties and on the Start Menu tab click the Customize button and make sure that Internet is selected and IE is chosen as the browser in the Show on Start menu area.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='776899' date='25-May-2009 21:09']Dave,

    When you finally get IE installed and "working properly"(), if the IE icon does not appear on the Start menu, simply right click on the Start button, select Properties and on the Start Menu tab click the Customize button and make sure that Internet is selected and IE is chosen as the browser in the Show on Start menu area.[/quote]


    A thousand thanks gentlemen for all your posts, as the first attachment shows, the IE "e" icon now appears on the start menu & -thanks to Doc's post, is set as the default browser. Incidentally guys, one of the reasons why I asked the question in the first place was because -not only was the IE tab not shown on the "Start" menu but as the attachment in my first post shows; the size next to IE in "Add / Remove progs" menu was Nill. WELL..... now that IE IS installed & working just fine, the size still reads NIL in "Add / Remove"... This IT stuff sure does puzzle me BUT thanks to this amazing forum, I am enabled yet again to scramble out of the mire of despond which I [like Pilgrim in Pilgrim's Progress] find myself in too often for my well being. Being 71 next month means I don't have an abundance of hair but without this great forum it could well be even less. Thank you all so much. Dave. [attachment=83963:IE_now_OK.jpg][attachment=83964:IE_still...nil_size.jpg]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    The size of an application in the Add or Remove Programs control panel is often inaccurate, as is the usage information displayed when you select an application by clicking on its name. This is a long-standing bug in Windows, it's nothing to worry about.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •