Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Pilgrim' post='775102' date='13-May-2009 21:55']This can also happen if you are using a wireless mouse with a USB receiver. The signal between the receiver and the mouse is sometimes considered "activity" and thus screensavers won't launch.[/quote]


    Hello,
    I have had this problem off and on ever since I got my computer with vista installed.
    Sometimes the screensaver works and sometimes it doesn't. I only use the screensavers that came with Vista and seem to have more trouble with the My Pictures screensaver than the generic windows ones.
    It also seems to not want to work when I have shut down my broadband internet connection.
    What I usually do is shut the monitor off overnight if I'm not shutting down the computer, though I understand that 'burn-in' is not so much of a problem with the newer flat screen monitors.
    It doesn't affect the computer function at all, it just doesn't kick in..

    I'd be interested in knowing the cause..
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Can you post a screen shot of the Display Properties dialogue box showing the Screensavers tab ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Peppurr101' post='776739' date='24-May-2009 17:37']Hello,
    snip...
    What I usually do is shut the monitor off overnight if I'm not shutting down the computer...[/quote]

    Apart from your screen saver issue, you should also look at Power Management options: sleep, hibernate, hybrid, turn off display (timer) etc.
    Regards,
    PaulB

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='Peppurr101' post='776739' date='24-May-2009 16:37']I have had this problem off and on ever since I got my computer with vista installed.
    Sometimes the screensaver works and sometimes it doesn't.[/quote]

    Please do not hijack a thread. I split this from the topic where you posted originally.

    You'll most likely get better answers by starting your own thread. Also, you won't confuse readers by having them try to match posts with your questions and the other poster. You can always reference the other thread if you feel it is needed.

    Thanks,

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Apologies.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='Peppurr101' post='776953' date='26-May-2009 03:58']Apologies.[/quote]

    No problem. Were you able to try the power management suggestion?

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='777006' date='26-May-2009 14:51']No problem. Were you able to try the power management suggestion?

    Joe[/quote]

    Hi Joe,
    I have my power management options for my hard drive and screen set to 'never'. The sleep, hibernate and hybrid options I don't usually use. I leave my computer running for the most part, if I'm not home I just shut it down.
    I had tried the sleep option when I first got the computer, but there were some issues where it wouldn't wake up without a hard boot.

    Here is my screen shot:
    [attachment=83975:Capture.JPG]

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='Peppurr101' post='777023' date='26-May-2009 11:17']I have my power management options for my hard drive and screen set to 'never'.[/quote]

    Do you have a wireless mouse, keyboard or other device that is turned on most of the time?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='777029' date='26-May-2009 17:34']Do you have a wireless mouse, keyboard or other device that is turned on most of the time?

    Joe[/quote]

    No, just a standard USB mouse and keyboard

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='Peppurr101' post='777033' date='26-May-2009 12:02']No, just a standard USB mouse and keyboard[/quote]

    Who is the PC manufacturer? There are/were some problems with a piece of Dell software when Vista was released. But I don't remember what it was off the top of my head.

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='777053' date='26-May-2009 20:36']Who is the PC manufacturer? There are/were some problems with a piece of Dell software when Vista was released. But I don't remember what it was off the top of my head.

    Joe[/quote]

    Hi Joe,
    It's a Dell XPS 420 desktop. I think I posted my specs somewhere.. hang on and I'll see if I can find them again
    I've had Dells before and they always seem to go wonky on sleep/hibernate and I have gone out of the habit of using those options. Is sleep really that much of a power save over leaving the computer on? I'd always thought it was more of a battery saving thing with laptops..


    Edit: Oops.. I guess I was thinking of another board where my specs are.. Here is my machine setup:

    Dell XPS 420
    Intel ® Core(tm) Quad 6600 @2.4GHz
    4GB dual channel DDR2 667MHZ [4x 1024]
    NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX
    Creative SB X-Fi
    2 500GB Hard drives in a RAID 1 Mirror configuration.
    Bog standard mouse, speakers and keyboard
    Thomson Speed Touch 330 broadband modem
    No network. Yet.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='Peppurr101' post='777120' date='27-May-2009 03:00']It's a Dell XPS 420 desktop.
    Dell XPS 420
    Intel ® Core™ Quad 6600 @2.4GHz
    4GB dual channel DDR2 667MHZ [4x 1024]
    NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX
    Creative SB X-Fi
    2 500GB Hard drives in a RAID 1 Mirror configuration.
    Bog standard mouse, speakers and keyboard
    Thomson Speed Touch 330 broadband modem
    No network. Yet.[/quote]

    Use Task Manager to see if you have ehtray.exe running. That is the program I was trying to remember. It is a non-critical piece for Windows Media Center. So, terminate it if it is running.

    Also, make sure you have the most current drivers for your mouse & keyboard.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='777155' date='27-May-2009 10:01']Use Task Manager to see if you have ehtray.exe running. That is the program I was trying to remember. It is a non-critical piece for Windows Media Center. So, terminate it if it is running.[/quote]

    Joe, what is the problem with ehtray.exe? It shows up as a process in my task manager. I don't use screen savers but it doesn't appear to interfere with my power management options, particularly powering off my monitor.
    Regards,
    PaulB

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='PaulB' post='777180' date='27-May-2009 14:03']Joe, what is the problem with ehtray.exe? It shows up as a process in my task manager. I don't use screen savers but it doesn't appear to interfere with my power management options, particularly powering off my monitor.[/quote]

    Ehtray.exe intereferes with the screen saver. I guess it does something to make Windows think the PC is active. You can check some of the threads at ehtray.exe vista screensaver - Live Search for more details.

    If it does not appear to bother your system then just leve it alone.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •