Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 47
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Southgate, MI
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy

    Having trouble… Which of these updates should I have installed by now?
    KB952004, KB956572, KB959426, KB960803, KB960715, KB890830, KB960544, KB971180. I’ve been quite lazy, it’s been a long time since I turned off the auto update function months ago and neglected to follow-through with your posts. I am way-non-computer-geek, this stuff really throws me for a loop. Will you take pity on me and help me out here?
    I can’t get to my email from my computer but I could get to your website, I also couldn’t get to windows help site—kept losing the connection. So I don’t know what to do.
    Oh, and is there a better virus protection software program than AVG Free, which you suggested back when I was trying to be a computer geek.

    This is taking a really long time to get to your “post a question” page I’ve been waiting for over 20 minutes, if this gets up and running… something is blocking my moves on the computer/internet.

    Sincerely,
    Evelyn

    PS: I had to use my mothers computer for part of this, I had forgotten my password and couldn't get to my email.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Welcome to the Lounge!

    I'd simply install all updates.

    The free version of Avast! has been mentioned favorably in the Lounge of late. See FREE antivirus software with spyware protection: avast! Home Edition.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Let me second Hans welcome.

    You said your system is very slow and you cannot check your email from your computer. I'm guessing from the way you say that, you are using an online email service or checking your mail at your ISP's (Internet Service Provider) site. Do you use dialup or braodband for your internet service ??

    When was the last time you did any system maintenance (Dump your Temporary Internet files and cookies, defragment your hard drive, clear your browser cache, etc.) ?? Also, can you tell us how much RAM memory your computer has and any other details about your hardware and operating system ?? It will help us to help you.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Southgate, MI
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy

    I don't know for sure how much RAM memory I have I think it's two Gigs. My email is Yahoo, my internet connection is WOW cable, my mothers service, I have a wireless connection to her router (No, I'm not a minor). I have Vista on an HP that I got over a year ago, will be two years in November. I have "Internet Explorer 8 provided by Yahoo" or so it says on my yahoo page. If you need any more info let me know.
    I have to leave for a minute. I should be back by 11:30.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Southgate, MI
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy

    Sorry, Where's my manners...

    Thank's for the Welcome! Glad to be here. You are being so nice, thank you.

    Evelyn

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Thanks for the information

    2 gigs of RAM with Vista might be part of the problem, but since we can't do anything about that, let's try some software.

    As Hans said, get a copy of Avast. (the FREE version for home use) Follow his link and download the installer to your desktop. Then run one last scan with AVG to be sure there are no obvious problems and then uninstall it. Reboot and then install Avast. It will connect to the internet when you execute the file on your desktop and DL the installation files and install itself. Follow the prompts and allow it to reboot you system and scan on the reboot (does this by default).

    Next, get a copy of Malwarebytes, the FREE version (blue download button on the site) install it and do a quick scan with it and let it remove anything it finds.

    When you've done these things, post back and let us know how you are doing. If you have any problems during the process, post back and we'll try to help. Good luck and have fun with this. It's a learning experience.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Southgate, MI
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy

    Thank you

    I will try it in the morning, my sister took me out for my birthday and I had one more than I should have had (hear! hear!) or something like that. I'm not normally a drinker but I had fun. I really appreciate your time and effort.

    Sincerly,
    Evelyn

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Southgate, MI
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy

    DocWatson

    Thank you for your patients, should I install the updates first?

    You wrote "It will connect to the internet when you execute the file on your desktop and DL the installation files and install itself."
    What does DL mean is it something the installation will do on it's own? Also I think I have more than one copy of Internet Explorer 8, If i should uninstall one how do I know witch one to remove?

    Thank you
    Evelyn

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    DL is short for download.

    The download button on the web page I posted a link to will not download the entire application, just a small installer. When you start the installer, it will download the actual Avast! application and automatically install it.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    It doesn't really matter whether you install the updates now or later, after installing Avast!

    Are you sure you have two copies of Internet Explorer 8 installed? That would be rather unusual.

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Southgate, MI
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy

    Thank you for asking.

    How do I find out for sure if I have two copies of Internet Explorer 8.

    Evelyn

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Normally, Windows won't allow you to install multiple copies of Internet Explorer.

    Select Start | Control Panel.
    In the Programs section, select Uninstall a program.
    In the Tasks pane, click View installed updates.
    Do you see Windows Internet Explorer 8 listed more than once here?

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='EvelynMitchell' post='777967' date='02-Jun-2009 09:44']DocWatson

    Thank you for your patients, should I install the updates first?

    You wrote "It will connect to the internet when you execute the file on your desktop and DL the installation files and install itself."
    What does DL mean is it something the installation will do on it's own? Also I think I have more than one copy of Internet Explorer 8, If i should uninstall one how do I know witch one to remove?

    Thank you
    Evelyn [/quote]

    Sorry for the shorthand. I was being lazy.

    As Hans said, it really doesn't matter, except that you will be sure your scan included all the latest virus definitions. Avast will update automatically by default.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Southgate, MI
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy

    I really did it this time...

    I can't reach you from my computer in fact I can't reach anything from my computer. The (Avast) download said it would take 9hours and 40min (yes, the first part, the set-up). so I waited an hour-- checked again, it still said it would take 9hrs and 40min, so I closed it. tried to download again this time it said it would take 15 hours. So I tried to find the source of the slowness. We have WOW cable, I called them they said to shut down, I did.
    Moms computer responded OK but mine didn't, I can't keep a connection to the internet. I installed the accumulated updates on both computers hoping that would solve any problems with Internet explorer... not for me. So I found an internet explorer without ad-ons in my start menu and tried to use it to get back on line... Still no dice. I'm running Windows Defender as a full scan now to see if it can find something wrong.
    I'm losing my mind here.
    How is that bata version of windows one stop for vista? Does it work? I hope I said that right. Might be windos live or something like that. not sure at the moment my mind is trying to crash.

    Thank you,
    Evelyn

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    WOW cable....

    That would seem to be the source of your problems if your system is going to take HOURS to download a file the size of the AVAST installer. I would download the file on your mom's computer and use a USB memory stick to transfer the file to your system. But then the download for the installation file would take days if the other is going to take hours.

    Have you tried contacting WOW cable support and asking them to walk you through your settings for the internet to be sure they are correct. One other question that might shed some light on this for us.... do you connect wirelessly or are you connected to the internet via an ethernet cable to the modem ???
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •