Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beverly, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I've been trying to install Windows XP SP3 for a while now and I keep getting an error message that says I don't have enough memory. I've deleted files I don't need, run ccleaner.exe and cleanup.exe and I'm still getting the same message which I've attached to this post. What should I do?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    How much free space do you have on the PC?

    More importantly, since you probably have enough space: Do you have several partitions on the drive?

    If there are several partitions; for example a smaller for OS and programs and a larger for user data, the installer often uses the largest partition to temporarily extract the files. This is very common and no problem. But it could happen that if you have several partitions (smaller recovery partitions included) that the installer is looking at the wrong partition (one of the small ones) when it calculates the amount of free space. Thus nothing you do on the system drive or the amount of free space on it helps if the installer is looking the wrong way.

    For reference: Hard disk space requirements for Windows XP Service Pack 3

    I assume you have looked at these MSKB articles:
    Error message when you try to install Windows XP Service Pack 3: "You do not have enough free disk space on %SystemDrive% to install Service Pack 3"
    Similar resolution but for archive space.
    Error message when you try to install Windows XP SP3: "You do not have enough free disk space on %SystemDrive% to archive the uninstall files"

    Which essentially says: remove unnecessary files.

    There are some other KBs out there, but I think we need to know if you have several partitions (recovery partitions included).

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='chris.revere' post='778574' date='05-Jun-2009 22:00']I've been trying to install Windows XP SP3 for a while now and I keep getting an error message that says I don't have enough memory. I've deleted files I don't need, run ccleaner.exe and cleanup.exe and I'm still getting the same message which I've attached to this post. What should I do?[/quote]

    It's not memory, it's space on the HD. Does it tell you you are 4 MB short each time or does the space requirement change each time ??

    As Argus asked, how much free space do you have on the drive ?? Go to My Computer and right click on the C drive and select Properties to see how much space you have.

    Is the SP 3 install file on your HD or are you installing from a CD or other external source like the internet ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beverly, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Windows XP is installed on a 20 G partition of the drive and there are 8 G left. I'm downloading the file from Windows Update and installing it from my hard drive-not from a CD.

    Just for fun, I reran Diskcleanup with the Compress Old Files option checked and that freed up a good deal more space but when I tried to install XP SP 3 I once again failed becuse the directory was 4 M too small.
    Grrr.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='chris.revere' post='778650' date='07-Jun-2009 01:23']Windows XP is installed on a 20 G partition of the drive and there are 8 G left. I'm downloading the file from Windows Update and installing it from my hard drive-not from a CD.
    [snip]
    I tried to install XP SP 3 I once again failed becuse the directory was 4 M too small.[/quote]
    I repeat my question: Do you have several partitions on the drive?

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beverly, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='Argus' post='778651' date='07-Jun-2009 00:46']I repeat my question: Do you have several partitions on the drive?[/quote]

    I apologize--I should have been clearer. Yes there are several partitions on the drive. The computer's a Macbook with Bootcamp The whole hard drive is about 80 G and 20 of that is the Windows partition.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='chris.revere' post='778653' date='07-Jun-2009 02:06']Yes there are several partitions on the drive. The computer's a Macbook with Bootcamp[/quote]
    There is a problem with a missing BootDir value in the registry. Since that value points to the "boot directory" where the boot files are, it is also the drive to install the SP. But if it is missing...

    At the end is my reply that I should have given in any case, Apple or not. But since it is a MacBook:

    I see a difference between solutions suggested at a MSFT KB article, in the Swedish and English version.

    In the Swedish version the solution is the one I mention at the end (same goes for German version). In the English version MSFT now suggests that you update your version of Boot Camp. I quote:

    Apple has released an update to Boot Camp. This update addresses issues and improves compatibility with Windows XP and with Windows Vista when these products are running on an Apple computer that uses Boot Camp.

    Important Installation of Boot Camp 2.1 is required before you install Windows XP Service Pack 3 (SP3). For more information, visit the following Apple Web site:
    http://www.apple.com/support/bootcamp/
    See: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/950716
    ---
    Below is the general answer I mentioned first above. But I think you should look at updates for Boot Camp.

    Run the registry editor (Start > Run > “regedit”).

    Navigate in left-hand tree to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Setup

    Check if you see a value in the right hand pane called “BootDir”. It should point at your boot drive folder (the directory) that holds the boot files, thus its data is often: “C:\”. If there is no value in the right hand pane with the name BootDir, you should add it.

    Right-click in the right hand pane and select New, String value. Give it the name “BootDir”, set the data to “C:\” (Without quotation marks).

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='chris.revere' post='778650' date='06-Jun-2009 19:23']Just for fun, I reran Diskcleanup with the Compress Old Files option checked and that freed up a good deal more space but when I tried to install XP SP 3 I once again failed becuse the directory was 4 M too small.
    Grrr.[/quote]
    The Compress Old Files option can be problematic. You might want to edit the registry to remove this option and allow the disk cleanup utility to clean the drive as it is intended.

    "The Disk Cleanup utility frees up space on a volume. To access the utility, open My Computer, right-click the drive you want to work on, click Properties, then select Disk Cleanup from the General tab. If the program hangs the system, the problem is most likely caused by the Disk Cleanup Wizard checking for all files older than 50 days that it can compress. Disabling this behavior might improve the performance. To disable the behavior, perform the following steps:
    Start a registry editor (e.g., regedit.exe).
    Navigate to the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Explorer\VolumeCaches\Compress old files registry subkey, then select it.
    From the File menu, select Export.
    Enter a filename and location, C:/ Registry - File Exports is good, then click Save.
    Delete the "Compress old files" registry subkey.
    Close the registry editor.
    __________________________________________________ ______________________________
    __________________________________

    Open regedit. Navigate to:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Explorer\VolumeCaches

    Delete the entry "Compress Old Files".

    Now cleanmgr.exe will work! You can still compress files manually, but cleanmgr.exe will not have the capacity to automatically compress old files after you make this change.."
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beverly, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Argus, tack själv till deras hjälp. I installed the update to Bootcamp (I'm glad I came here--it wouldn't have occurred to me that this was the problem.) I installed the Bootcamp update, checked for the registry key and ran the SP3 update.

    Doc Watson, I'm not planning on running cleanmgr with the compress old files option again--I was just grasping at straws since I kept running into space constraints.

    Thanks to all for your help.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='chris.revere' post='778729' date='08-Jun-2009 03:39']Argus, tack själv till deras hjälp.[/quote]
    Thanks, you're welcome.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •