Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Anaheim, California, USA
    Posts
    560
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I love Windows Live Photo Gallery. I recommend it to anyone that needs a simple photo organizing and basic editing tool.

    I recently got a Dell XPS 1640 with Vista Home installed. I loaded Windows Live Photo Gallery and it just doesn't work. I can basically look at one folder's worth of pictures, open them in editing window and go back to the Gallery but when I try to click on another folder, it all goes badly. The first group of photos stay on the screen with the second folders photos laid on top, although I can't see them until I run the mouse over them.

    I close it and then re-open it and then I can work with one folder and that's about it.

    I tried repairing the program, that didn't work, and then un-installing and re-installing and it still doesn't work. It kills me because I have recommended this program to so many people. Any ideas as to why it doesn't work? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    From here....

    If you are on Windows Vista, it is recommended that you upgrade the inbuilt Windows Photo Gallery program to Windows Live Photo Gallery for a two reasons - Flickr and video.

    Windows Photo Gallery is part of the default Windows Vista installation while Windows Live Photo Gallery has to be installed separately via Windows Live.


    Both the programs are clones of each other but the latest version of Windows Live Photo Gallery is more useful since it lets you upload pictures to Flickr and videos to MSN soapbox, a YouTube like website owned by Microsoft.

    Windows Live Photo Gallery can also rotate videos and it can play iPod (MP4, MOV) files provided you have Quicktime installed.

    But itís all very confusing for Vista users - you have two software titles on the machine that arenít just similar in features but in their names as well.

    What will help is an update that makes it easy to completely uninstall Windows Photo Gallery.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='donebb' post='778870' date='08-Jun-2009 17:13']I recently got a Dell XPS 1640 with Vista Home installed. I loaded Windows Live Photo Gallery and it just doesn't work. I can basically look at one folder's worth of pictures, open them in editing window and go back to the Gallery but when I try to click on another folder, it all goes badly. The first group of photos stay on the screen with the second folders photos laid on top, although I can't see them until I run the mouse over them.[/quote]

    1.) Are you sure you are installing the most current version 2009 (Build 14.0.8064.206)?
    2.) Do you have Vista Sp-2 installed?
    3.) Is Vista up-to-date with patches beyond Sp-2?
    4.) Is Vista 32-bit or 64-bit?
    5.) Have you tried Live support at E-mail Support?
    6.) Do you have any plugins installed?
    7.) Have you checked Discussions in microsoft.public.windows.live.photogallery?

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Anaheim, California, USA
    Posts
    560
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Just to clarify, I have downloaded and am talking about Windows Live Photo Gallery, not Windows Photo Gallery, although both are on the machine.

    To answer Joe's other questions

    1.) Are you sure you are installing the most current version 2009 (Build 14.0.8064.206)? Yes
    2.) Do you have Vista Sp-2 installed? No, SP-1 and when I click on Upgrade Windows Vista, it wants me to spend money, which I don't want to do.
    3.) Is Vista up-to-date with patches beyond Sp-2? No.
    4.) Is Vista 32-bit or 64-bit? 64 bit
    5.) Have you tried Live support at E-mail Support? No, I always go to Woody's Lounge first

    6.) Do you have any plugins installed? Such as uploading to Flickr or Facebook? No, but I do on my primary computer and do not have a problem there.
    7.) Have you checked Discussions in microsoft.public.windows.live.photogallery? No, again same answer as #5.

    I will check the other resources that Joe mentioned. Thanks for your help.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    2.) Do you have Vista Sp-2 installed? No, SP-1 and when I click on Upgrade Windows Vista, it wants me to spend money, which I don't want to do.
    You want "Windows Update" NOT "Upgrade Windows Vista".
    The SP2 is FREE

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='donebb' post='778899' date='08-Jun-2009 20:07']2.) Do you have Vista Sp-2 installed? No, SP-1 and when I click on Upgrade Windows Vista, it wants me to spend money, which I don't want to do.
    3.) Is Vista up-to-date with patches beyond Sp-2? No.[/quote]

    Vista SP2 should be a free update, not an upgrade.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='donebb' post='778899' date='08-Jun-2009 19:07']2.) Do you have Vista Sp-2 installed? No, SP-1 and when I click on Upgrade Windows Vista, it wants me to spend money, which I don't want to do.

    I will check the other resources that Joe mentioned. Thanks for your help.[/quote]

    SP-2 is free. 'Press' the Start orb and click on All Programs and then Windows Update. In the left column click on check for updates.

    BTW, how do you have Autoupdates configured?

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Boy, did we all hit it at about the same time!

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='778912' date='08-Jun-2009 20:52']Boy, did we all hit it at about the same time! [/quote]
    Well.... close anyway !!!
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Anaheim, California, USA
    Posts
    560
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    And this is why I always go to Woody's first. I don't think anyone responds on microsoft.public.windows.live.photogallery. Thanks guys, I am downloading the updates now and will let you know how it works out.

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Anaheim, California, USA
    Posts
    560
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I think you guys fixed it! Woohoo!

    Thank you.

    Here's a quick recap of weirdness. To check and see what service pack I had running, I went to Start, Computer, right-click, Properties. That's where I originally saw that I only had SP-1. Then, there's a link to click Upgrade Windows Vista, which I clicked and found that I had several choices, all which cost money.

    Thanks to your suggestions, I then went to Update Windows, (I guess if you're Microsoft, Upgrade = $, Update = Free...but probably not all the time) and downloaded the updates, I didn't check them, there were 14 different updates, I just accepted all of them. I had some updates download 2 different times yesterday also, I knew this because when I shut the computer down, I got messages that updates were being installed.

    So anyway, I got the 14 updates installed, restarted the computer and then checked to make sure I had SP-2...and I didn't. It was still on SP-1. I went back to Updates and it told me that there was 1 more update, this time I looked at it and it was SP-2. So I downloaded that and installed it and everything seems to be working. The thing is my Check Update setting is set to check everyday at 3:00 PM. Not sure why it didn't download it before this. Guess I should check periodically and make sure that there aren't any updates hanging around out there.

    Thanks again, you guys are great and I can recommend WLPG again.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='donebb' post='778997' date='09-Jun-2009 12:32']I think you guys fixed it! Woohoo!

    Thanks again, you guys are great and I can recommend WLPG again.[/quote]

    You're welcome. I'm not sure what in all the patches fixed your issue but at least it is fixed. Thanks for posting back.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Anaheim, California, USA
    Posts
    560
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I guess I WooHoo'ed too soon. Windows Live Photo Gallery is not working again. This is on a laptop computer that I do not use that often, so I don't know exactly when this started.

    WLPG opens and I am able to select a folder. It will allow me to open a few pictures in the, I don't know what you call it, the Fix-It window. I can select other pictures but after a while, and it doesn't take long, I can't open anything in the Fix-It window, either the cursor just spins or it will tell me that there was an error, no details, just error. Then as I move around the gallery screen, it's like remnants of the pictures I was looking at are in the background, or nothing is on the screen until I run the mouse over it, then each picture will appear.

    I have all of the latest Vista updates loaded, I un-installed Windows Live Photo Gallery, actually, all of the Live stuff, Mail, Toolbars, etc. and then re-downloaded Live, loading only Photo Gallery. I still get the same thing.

    Anyone have any ideas on what I can try next? Thanks for the help, again.

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='donebb' post='782467' date='30-Jun-2009 11:50']Then as I move around the gallery screen, it's like remnants of the pictures I was looking at are in the background, or nothing is on the screen until I run the mouse over it, then each picture will appear.[/quote]

    Video artifacts can be caused by driver issues. Do you have the most current video drivers?

    Joe
    Joe

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Anaheim, California, USA
    Posts
    560
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I would assume that I do, the laptop is only a month old. I checked by using Device Manager, then right clicking on ATI Mobility Radeon HD3670/Update Driver Software and it came back and said that I had the most current.

    Is there somewhere else to check that? Thanks.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •