New Lounger
    Thanks
    I'm a novice at best at using Access and I need some help. I have a database that I want to post in a Lotus Notes TeamRoom (much like a forum or message board). I need to restrict access to about 4 people who will have full control, the rest of the people can read only. Any suggestions on how I could do this? Can you password protect it like in Excel? Any help you could give would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks
    Welcome to the Lounge!

Which version of Access are you using? Access 2003 and before have a robust user-level security system, but this has been depreciated in Access 2007. So if you're using Access 2007 or are planning to upgrade to Access 2007, it is not a good idea to use this feature.

I don't have any experience with Lotus Notes TeamRoom, but an Access database will probably not work there without problems. Access databases are intended to be used on a local hard disk or across a network, not on an internet-like site.

New Lounger
    Thanks
    [quote name='HansV' post='779967' date='15-Jun-2009 17:06']Welcome to the Lounge!

Which version of Access are you using? Access 2003 and before have a robust user-level security system, but this has been depreciated in Access 2007. So if you're using Access 2007 or are planning to upgrade to Access 2007, it is not a good idea to use this feature.

I don't have any experience with Lotus Notes TeamRoom, but an Access database will probably not work there without problems. Access databases are intended to be used on a local hard disk or across a network, not on an internet-like site.[/quote]