Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    pennsylvaina
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question

    Windows XP crashed on my pc ....my daughter said it was taking a long time 2 shut down last night.. so she shut it down manually ...It wont boot in any mode and i cant find the recovery disc..... someone told me i may be able to start windows with out the disc on an HP wich it is. does anyone know about this? I already tried Last Known good config....It says windows did not start properly because of power loss , shut down ,yada yada ,,,then asks how i want to start it...if i dont know what caused it .start in normal mode..you know that screen...


    thanks

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    What happens when you try start in normal mode ???
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    pennsylvaina
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='779996' date='15-Jun-2009 20:05']What happens when you try start in normal mode ???[/quote]


    it tries to start then the error screen comes back up... this happens when i try to start in any mode

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    [quote name='havnoclue' post='780070' date='16-Jun-2009 09:19']it tries to start then the error screen comes back up... this happens when i try to start in any mode[/quote]

    Even safe mode?

    What is the exact error in safe mode?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='havnoclue' post='779976' date='15-Jun-2009 17:47'][/quote]
    If nothing else works, you can order (usually for only the cost of shipping) Recovery discs for Notebooks or Recovery discs for Desktops.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    pennsylvaina
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='780092' date='16-Jun-2009 10:49']Even safe mode?

    What is the exact error in safe mode?

    Joe[/quote]

    Not even in safe mode it tries to start…the error I get is the same one “We apologize Windows did not start successfully” screen When I go to the advanced options screen ‘F8” the only ones I didn’t try are the Directory services restore mode and VGA mode

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Some HP systems will give you access to the Recovery Partition that will allow you to format the drive and rinstall the OS to the state it was in when you first took the computer out of the box. The downside to this is that you will lose all your data and have to update the OS and reinstall all your programs.

    If you have any data that is critical or that you cannot replace easily, or at all, I would not go this route. The option John offered in a previous post to order new CDs is better, this way may be easier if it is an available option. Are you running XP Pro or Home ?? That will make a difference in what you may be able to do with the new CDs.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    pennsylvaina
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='780116' date='16-Jun-2009 12:39']Some HP systems will give you access to the Recovery Partition that will allow you to format the drive and rinstall the OS to the state it was in when you first took the computer out of the box. The downside to this is that you will lose all your data and have to update the OS and reinstall all your programs.

    If you have any data that is critical or that you cannot replace easily, or at all, I would not go this route. The option John offered in a previous post to order new CDs is better, this way may be easier if it is an available option. Are you running XP Pro or Home ?? That will make a difference in what you may be able to do with the new CDs.[/quote]


    it's running home edition ....I got it used so I wont be able to reinstall any programs ...

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    If you got it used then you may not be able to purchase the CDs from HP. But it's worth trying. You'll lose all your programs and data if you use either the CDs or the recovery partition options.

    What happens if you tap the F11 key during the boot process ?? If it get's you into the recovery partition, don't follow through unless you are sure you want to restore the computer to it's original state. Not the state that you got it in, but exactly the way it was when the original owner took it out of the box and started Windows for the first time. The CDs, if you can get them will do the same thing.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    pennsylvaina
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='780233' date='17-Jun-2009 00:14']If you got it used then you may not be able to purchase the CDs from HP. But it's worth trying. You'll lose all your programs and data if you use either the CDs or the recovery partition options.

    What happens if you tap the F11 key during the boot process ?? If it get's you into the recovery partition, don't follow through unless you are sure you want to restore the computer to it's original state. Not the state that you got it in, but exactly the way it was when the original owner took it out of the box and started Windows for the first time. The CDs, if you can get them will do the same thing.[/quote]


    So your saying what ever route I choose I'll still lose all installed programs? ok do you think I would be able to try to recover files on my hard drive with that thing Ican't remember the name of it... excuse me trying rush and i can't think ...but.Iwas going to by it the other day ...you plug it in to your, pc your hard drive comes up on another pc and you can save your files to an external drive? do you know what i'm talking about ?

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    You could be talking about a USB external drive enclosure.

    See http://www.newegg.com/Store/SubCategory.as...rnal-Enclosures

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='havnoclue' post='780302' date='17-Jun-2009 10:16']So your saying what ever route I choose I'll still lose all installed programs? ok do you think I would be able to try to recover files on my hard drive with that thing Ican't remember the name of it... excuse me trying rush and i can't think ...but.Iwas going to by it the other day ...you plug it in to your, pc your hard drive comes up on another pc and you can save your files to an external drive? do you know what i'm talking about ?[/quote]

    I believe you are talking about a crossover cable. That will not work in this case because you have to be able to log on to both computers.

    Your only option to recover your data is to connect the drive in your computer to another computer either via an external enclosure as Dave mentioned or by connecting the drive inside the case of another computer as a second or slave drive. Using either of these two methods will give you access to the contents of the drive via Windows Explorer or My Computer where it will appear as a second HD and you can copy the data off to an external drive or CD/DVD.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    pennsylvaina
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='780377' date='17-Jun-2009 17:03']I believe you are talking about a crossover cable. That will not work in this case because you have to be able to log on to both computers.

    Your only option to recover your data is to connect the drive in your computer to another computer either via an external enclosure as Dave mentioned or by connecting the drive inside the case of another computer as a second or slave drive. Using either of these two methods will give you access to the contents of the drive via Windows Explorer or My Computer where it will appear as a second HD and you can copy the data off to an external drive or CD/DVD.[/quote]


    Oh , ok I can actually do that right away...Tell me what
    you think of this ..This HP is Very nice It has a dual dvd burner, cd burner Even a floppy drive Tons of usb and a lot of room for upgrade, I have an excellent speaker system w sub woofer and 17 in" flat screen from my old dell..(my son dropped It when we moved that's how I ended up with the HP). I'm almost certain it;s been upgraded b4.... since I'm losing all programs.. what if I installed a new cpu or even motherboard and another hard drive ..... I can use the present board on another pc I have ..,Its pretty fast ,and I'm itching to do an upgrade .....think it would be worth it ?

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='havnoclue' post='780662' date='19-Jun-2009 11:31']what if I installed a new cpu or even motherboard and another hard drive ..... I can use the present board on another pc I have ..,Its pretty fast ,and I'm itching to do an upgrade .....think it would be worth it ?[/quote]
    NO, I don't think it would be worth it.
    There are just too many variables in trying to refit an OEM motherboard with another type. You don't just pop out the old and put in a new one. A lot of OEMs have their own MECHANICAL as well as electrical uniqueness. Is it an ATX form factor or Mini/Micro or one of at least 22 other types. Is the memory of the same type? ( doubtful ) Power supply similar and compatible? Can the other external devices be used? On and On.
    I think your best bet would be to get a "barebones" new system, that would include case. power supply, MB and CPU. You could probably reuse things like the monitor, keyboard, mouse, sound speakers and things like that. There are some good buys out there and your success is much more possible, when going this route. [attachment=84355:meltdown.gif]
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='havnoclue' post='780662' date='19-Jun-2009 11:31']...Tell me what you think of this ..This HP is Very nice It has a dual dvd burner, cd burner Even a floppy drive Tons of usb and a lot of room for upgrade, I have an excellent speaker system w sub woofer and 17 in" flat screen from my old dell .... since I'm losing all programs.. what if I installed a new cpu or even motherboard and another hard drive ..... I can use the present board on another pc I have ..,Its pretty fast ,and I'm itching to do an upgrade .....think it would be worth it ?[/quote]
    As Bob said.... No. If you like the HP box then just buy a copy of XP from here for that system and keep what you have.

    If you are wondering why I didn't mention this earlier, it's simple..... I just found that site.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •