Lounger
    Thanks
    I am a novice wtih Excel formulas and I want to know if Excel can calculate months so that if you start off with a specific date, you can get that same date say three or six months out? For example, if my starting date is January 15, 2009, what would be the formula for 3 months out to get April 15, 2009 or if I started with January 15, 2009 and want six months out, what would the formula be to get July 15, 2009? I am trying to create a template that will do these types of calculations. I have done it before with days out and that works great, but I was just wondering if you can get specific dates as well. Thanks for any help.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks
    If you're using Excel 2003 or before, you can activate the Analysis ToolPak add-in by ticking its check box in Tools | Add-Ins. This makes several new functions available, among which EDATE. In Excel 2007, these functions are available by default.

Let's say that A1 contains a date such as January 15, 2009, and that B1 contains a number such as 3 or 6.
    The formula =EDATE(A1,B1) will return the date the specified number of months after the date in A1.
    If you specify a negative number in B1, the formula will return the date the specified number of months before the date in A1.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks
    [quote name='HansV' post='779986' date='15-Jun-2009 23:52']If you're using Excel 2003 or before, you can activate the Analysis ToolPak add-in by ticking its check box in Tools | Add-Ins. This makes several new functions available, among which EDATE. In Excel 2007, these functions are available by default.

Let's say that A1 contains a date such as January 15, 2009, and that B1 contains a number such as 3 or 6.
    The formula =EDATE(A1,B1) will return the date the specified number of months after the date in A1.
    If you specify a negative number in B1, the formula will return the date the specified number of months before the date in A1.[/quote]