Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 60

Thread: IE8: My opinion

  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    Quite frankly, if anyone asks me, I'd tell them not to upgrade to IE 8.

    I went from IE6 to IE8 on Win XP Pro system (latest SP). I upgraded primarily because of a nagging problem I had in which a "phantom" instance of IE that would stay in memory and not let a new instance load (I'd have to use Task Manager to remove the old instance).

    Well, IE8 may have solved this problem, but it introduced its own problems that seem to outweigh any benefits. I like the new tab feature, for example, except that when I use [ctl]-[Shift]-click to open a link in a new tab and move to that new tab, it frequently bombs-out. It just sits there for about a minute, then opens a new instance of IE instead of a new tab. The new instance is usable, but the old instance is totally locked-up and must be removed using Task Manager. This is not a rare, every once in a while thing; it happens on a daily basis.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Are you using any browser add-ins (toolbars, helpers, ...)? They are the most common cause of browser problems in general, and some have compatibility problems with IE8. So you might try running IE8 without add-ins for a while.

    I've been using IE8 for 3 months now, both at home and at work, with remarkably few problems.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='MarkLiquorman' post='780060' date='16-Jun-2009 08:46']Well, IE8 may have solved this problem, but it introduced its own problems that seem to outweigh any benefits. I like the new tab feature, for example, except that when I use [ctl]-[Shift]-click to open a link in a new tab and move to that new tab, it frequently bombs-out. It just sits there for about a minute, then opens a new instance of IE instead of a new tab. The new instance is usable, but the old instance is totally locked-up and must be removed using Task Manager. This is not a rare, every once in a while thing; it happens on a daily basis.[/quote]

    1.) When I see IE8 open a new instance it is usually because I have a dialog box that needs a response.
    2.) Often when there are issues with a web site hanging or not displaying correctly they can be resolved by turning on compatibility mode for that site.
    3.) When you have a "lock up", have you checked Task Manager to see if there is any unusual CPU usage at the time?

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='MarkLiquorman' post='780060' date='16-Jun-2009 09:46']Quite frankly, if anyone asks me, I'd tell them not to upgrade to IE 8.

    Well, IE8 may have solved this problem, but it introduced its own problems that seem to outweigh any benefits. I like the new tab feature, for example, except that when I use [ctl]-[Shift]-click to open a link in a new tab and move to that new tab, it frequently bombs-out. It just sits there for about a minute, then opens a new instance of IE instead of a new tab. The new instance is usable, but the old instance is totally locked-up and must be removed using Task Manager. This is not a rare, every once in a while thing; it happens on a daily basis.[/quote]
    1. Why are you blaming IE8 (like many do for almost everything/anything Microsoft) when millions are not having your problem?

    2. Have you configured the Tab options in "Tools/Internet Options"?

    3. To open a link in a new Tab you should use "Ctrl + click", which is the documented method, although your method should work. I tried it on my system and it opened the link in a new tab but it took considerably longer. OR, you can right-click on a link and choose to "Open in New Tab".

    The short of it is... the problem(s) you are having are certainly real. But the problem(s) are NOT inherent in IE8 but rather caused by a configuration you made, one or more plugin/addon, one or more system 'tweaks', or who knows what. The great folks here will offer their experience and knowledge to try and resolve the issue for you. However, to summarily blame it all on IE8 is rather foolish and non-productive.
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    [quote name='Pilgrim' post='780069' date='16-Jun-2009 10:18']1. Why are you blaming IE8 (like many do for almost everything/anything Microsoft) when millions are not having your problem?

    2. Have you configured the Tab options in "Tools/Internet Options"?

    3. To open a link in a new Tab you should use "Ctrl + click", which is the documented method, although your method should work. I tried it on my system and it opened the link in a new tab but it took considerably longer. OR, you can right-click on a link and choose to "Open in New Tab".

    The short of it is... the problem(s) you are having are certainly real. But the problem(s) are NOT inherent in IE8 but rather caused by a configuration you made, one or more plugin/addon, one or more system 'tweaks', or who knows what. The great folks here will offer their experience and knowledge to try and resolve the issue for you. However, to summarily blame it all on IE8 is rather foolish and non-productive. [/quote]
    I've got a pretty "plain-vanilla" configuration; I haven't really done much or any configuration from the time of the upgrade from IE6. I haven't knowingly, manually installed any toolbars or add-ins (like Google toolbar, etc.), other than allow Symantec Anti-Virus to do its thing (which was already installed).

    I'm blaming IE8 because that's all that has changed.

    Using Ctrl+click opens tab, but then you have to click on the tab. Ctrl+Shift+click (according to Help) is supposed to open the tab and take you to it.

    I'm not bashing Microsoft or IE8, nor am I saying IE8 is terrible or anything like that. I'm just offering my opinion, FWIW, to anyone considering upgrading.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    [quote name='MarkLiquorman' post='780097' date='16-Jun-2009 16:05']...
    I'm not bashing Microsoft or IE8, nor am I saying IE8 is terrible or anything like that. I'm just offering my opinion, FWIW, to anyone considering upgrading.[/quote]
    It's strange how different people can have such different experiences. I have installed IE8 on a couple of PCs and I find it much more responsive than IE7 or IE6.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='MarkLiquorman' post='780097' date='16-Jun-2009 10:05']Using Ctrl+click opens tab, but then you have to click on the tab. Ctrl+Shift+click (according to Help) is supposed to open the tab and take you to it.[/quote]

    If you typically want to go to the new tab immediately you can set that in Internet Options | General | Tabs | Settings and making sure "Always switch to new tabs when they are created" is checked.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='780102' date='16-Jun-2009 11:19']If you typically want to go to the new tab immediately you can set that in Internet Options | General | Tabs | Settings and making sure "Always switch to new tabs when they are created" is checked.[/quote]
    Thanks. I never saw anything in Help that pointed to these options.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='StuartR' post='780099' date='17-Jun-2009 01:10']It's strange how different people can have such different experiences. I have installed IE8 on a couple of PCs and I find it much more responsive than IE7 or IE6.[/quote]
    And just to counter that I ran IE8 for about a week and found it so sluggish that I've swapped back to IE7. The bonus is that I now consider IE7 to be "lightning fast"... this buzz will no doubt wear off in about another week.

    Alan

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I went from IE7 to IE8 and have never looked back ... love it.

    But I am just an interested user with limited tech/system knowledge so I get to wonder if most problems are not of our own making? We continue to try to 'modify' what is on offer to make it work 'our way'. I had probs with IE7 which got solved by getting rid of add-ons and starting again at the basics. Seems to me that if IE8 (or other programmes, browsers etc) work well on the majority of pc's then on the ones that do not work well it must be down to local setup?

    I have to add that even Woody offers up 'don't install this or that' when the vast millions of users who 'just let it happen via Update' continue to enjoy using their systems in total ignorance of what has been/not been auto updated.

    Maybe it pays to be a bit ignorant at times and miss out on the 'fun' ... but it would be soooo boring!
    Happy modifying
    Ron
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    [quote name='RonH' post='780124' date='16-Jun-2009 13:23']Seems to me that if IE8 (or other programmes, browsers etc) work well on the majority of pc's then on the ones that do not work well it must be down to local setup?[/quote]
    Apparently you didn't read my answer to another post. I didn't make any configuration changes when I upgraded. The only extra toolbar I have is from Symantec's Anti-Virus. So it is not like I've done alot of things and now it doesn't work. Sometimes it actually might be the software.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington, USA
    Posts
    431
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    [quote name='MarkLiquorman' post='780132' date='16-Jun-2009 10:38']The only extra toolbar I have is from Symantec's Anti-Virus.[/quote]
    Well, it might well be the Symantec toolbar if it existed before you upgraded to IE8. I often seen program installs warn to disable the antivirus before installation and I've had trouble a time or two with antivirus interfering with an installation. In fact, now that I think about it I had a problem a couple weeks back when a user brought me their laptop because they couldn't install their McAfee upgrade. McAfee told me it was because it depended on Internet Explorer and didn't play nice with IE8. I had to uninstall and take him back to IE7 to get it to work. Maybe your version of Symantec is like McAfee, and doesn't work well with IE8.

    Maybe if there's a way to go back to IE7, disable or uninstall just the Symantec toolbar, then do the IE8 install, and see if IE8 works okay without it.
    Daisy

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    [quote name='AlanMiller' post='780112' date='16-Jun-2009 12:11']And just to counter that I ran IE8 for about a week and found it so sluggish that I've swapped back to IE7. The bonus is that I now consider IE7 to be "lightning fast"... this buzz will no doubt wear off in about another week.

    Alan[/quote]
    Are you implying that IE8 isn't the best and fastest program you've ever seen? And you expect to be able to show your face public?
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='AlanMiller' post='780112' date='16-Jun-2009 12:11']And just to counter that I ran IE8 for about a week and found it so sluggish that I've swapped back to IE7.[/quote]
    Alan,

    Just out of curiosity... do you have Spybot Search & Destroy installed on the machine that IE8 ran sluggish? The reason for asking is that it is a known issue that the "Immunize" feature in Spybot S&D causes IE8 to slow down considerably. Simply UN-Immunizing is said to resolve the issue. There were plenty of people that this applied to that also blamed IE8 but later realized that it was Spybot S&D that was the culprit.
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  15. #15
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Pilgrim' post='780196' date='17-Jun-2009 10:03']Alan,

    Just out of curiosity... do you have Spybot Search & Destroy installed on the machine that IE8 ran sluggish? The reason for asking is that it is a known issue that the "Immunize" feature in Spybot S&D causes IE8 to slow down considerably. Simply UN-Immunizing is said to resolve the issue. There were plenty of people that this applied to that also blamed IE8 but later realized that it was Spybot S&D that was the culprit. [/quote]

    Thanks Jeff. I do have S&D (with immunize on) and hadn't heard of that issue. I might give IE8 another whirl as you suggest.

    Alan

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •