Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    359
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    2 forms: Form A & Form B.
    In Form A, double-clicking a combo box will open Form B.
    After adding a record in Form B, exit Form B.
    How can I requery such that the combo box (in Form A) can be updated?
    The screenshot shows I have to use SelectObject set focus to Form A. Otherwise, Requery macro action can never locate the combo box control (ctl_PropertyID). Why?

    Questions:
    1. Is this the proper approach?
    2. Is SelectObject a must?
    3. Can I requery the combo box in Form A from Form B? How?

    Thanks.

    Armstrong
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    If I were to do this, I'd use VBA instead of a macro, but I don't dare to suggest that any more...

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    359
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='780268' date='17-Jun-2009 17:52']If I were to do this, I'd use VBA instead of a macro, but I don't dare suggesting that any more... [/quote]
    HansV,
    Thanks for trying. It's quite understandable. You're always my respectable guru.
    Armstrong

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='780268' date='17-Jun-2009 03:52']If I were to do this, I'd use VBA instead of a macro, but I don't dare to suggest that any more... [/quote]
    Well, I'm willing to suggest it again. Macros were the only way to program the original version of Access - and it quickly became clear that they weren't adequate to build even moderately complex applications. So Access Basic was introduced, and then superceded by VBA. In Access 2007 the macro capabilities were enhanced considerably, but there are still numerous problems in trying to do anything as complex as working with multiple forms. Bottom Line: Serious Access developers use VBA - macros are too limited.
    Wendell

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    359
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='WendellB' post='780296' date='17-Jun-2009 21:31']Well, I'm willing to suggest it again. Macros were the only way to program the original version of Access - and it quickly became clear that they weren't adequate to build even moderately complex applications. So Access Basic was introduced, and then superceded by VBA. In Access 2007 the macro capabilities were enhanced considerably, but there are still numerous problems in trying to do anything as complex as working with multiple forms. Bottom Line: Serious Access developers use VBA - macros are too limited.[/quote]
    I like macro programming in Access 2007 because it can accomplish day in and day out tasks such as setting sorting orders and filters in no time. Failure in my macro pursuing is definitely not an option.
    Nonetheleess, you're rest assured I'll be reading Chapter One on VBA programming tomorrow.
    I seem I'm a lonely macro guy here.
    Thanks for your insight.
    Armstrong

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •