Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    The wife's machine has not had a update since June 9, 2009.
    Each time we get the message "Windows could not search for updates" see attachments.
    I have followed every hit I can find on Google on"80072EFD Windows Update Vista" and none of them work.

    The HOSTS file is protected from from being edited.

    When doing a "Start" and Search with "CMD" this command is not listed or found, but it I browse my way to Windows\system32\cmd.exe I can right click and run as Administrator.

    These three MAY be related but I am not sure.
    Attached Images Attached Images

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='780785' date='20-Jun-2009 09:44']The wife's machine has not had a update since June 9, 2009.
    Each time we get the message "Windows could not search for updates" see attachments.
    I have followed every hit I can find on Google on"80072EFD Windows Update Vista" and none of them work.

    The HOSTS file is protected from from being edited.

    When doing a "Start" and Search with "CMD" this command is not listed or found, but it I browse my way to Windows\system32\cmd.exe I can right click and run as Administrator.[/quote]

    Windows Update: Have you checked You may encounter temporary connection-related errors when you use Windows Update or Microsoft Update to install updates? Have you run any malware scans?

    Can't find CMD. Normally, the Windows folder is not indexed. Have you changed the defaults to include additional folders? This can also be a sign of an infection. Full malware scans are in order.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Did you find this MS site regarding the error code ?? I used the new MS search site www.bing.com

    http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Windows/e...ba29271033.mspx
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='780803' date='20-Jun-2009 13:34']Did you find this MS site regarding the error code ?? I used the new MS search site www.bing.com

    http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Windows/e...ba29271033.mspx[/quote]
    At the end of that article it says:

    If the problem persists after you have added the Windows Update websites to your firewall's exceptions list, see this Knowledge Base article on the Microsoft Help and Support website for additional solutions to try, or go to the Windows Update Support Center website to request support by e‑mail.
    The "request support by e-mail" is certainly worth considering as is a phone call (sorry, don't have the number handy) because ALL Windows Update issues get FREE Microsoft support. It's a great gesture on the part of Microsoft especially considering how many millions of Windows users there are. I've used this free support on a few occasions and the problem(s) were always remedied.
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I have installed and ran quick scan of Malwarebytes 1.38 and found nothing. Before I did that I ran Ad-Aware and found and removed 33 cookies. I am currently running a full scan using Malwarebytes, and will report back when it finishes.

    I have done what is listed at the links provide by Joe and Doc, before posting here.

    The Start Search does NOT work regardless of what is typed in. We have the indexing turned OFF of our Vista machines, and this is the only one that does work. Will try turning it back on when the Malwarebytes scan finishes.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Malwarebytes found NOTHING.

    The indexing was turned back on when SP2 was installed and can not be turn off any longer just "Paused".

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Have you emailed MS support or do you think this is worth a phone call ?? Just mention Woody's name.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='780837' date='20-Jun-2009 18:14']Have you emailed MS support or do you think this is worth a phone call ?? Just mention Woody's name. [/quote]
    No, but I will be trying it today.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Got help today from
    :Microsoft Incident:
    William Zhao
    Microsoft Windows Update Support Professional
    Suggestion 2: Reset proxy (for LAN connection)
    ================================
    Remove invalid characters from the proxy exception list and then clear the proxy cache.
    1. Open Internet Explorer.
    2. In the "Tools" menu, select "Internet Options".
    3. Click on the "Connections" tab.
    4. Click on the "LAN Settings".
    5. Clear the entries in "Use automatic configuration script" and uncheck "Automatically detect settings."
    6. Click on the "Advanced" button. (Had to add check mark above to get the advance button to work) Then step step 8 cleared the check mark
    7. Please delete any entry in the Exceptions section,
    8. Click "OK", and return to the previous window. Uncheck "Use Proxy Server for your LAN", and click "OK" to accept the changes.
    9. Quit Internet Explorer.
    Next, clear your proxy cache.
    Reset Proxy Cache
    ---------------------
    1. Click the "Start" Button, click "All programs", and click "Accessories".
    2. Right-click "Command Prompt", and click "Run as administrator". If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.
    3. Type "netsh winhttp reset proxy" (without quotes) at the command prompt, and press Enter.
    After finishing the steps above, please go to the Windows Update website to see if this issue is resolved. If the issue persists, please assist me in collecting the following information in order to provide more effective troubleshooting steps.
    The "Instant Search" in the Start pane is still not working, but the updates are.

    (edit)
    There was a entry in the Proxy Settings of "Localhost using port 7171" and the same entry was listed in lower area in the Exceptions. Once I deleted both entries, and and remove the check mark so I could get to the advance area, OK myself out and then went to Start, All programs and then Windows Update, all is well.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='781041' date='22-Jun-2009 12:59']The "Instant Search" in the Start pane is still not working, but the updates are.[/quote]

    See if Troubleshooting Windows Vista Search & Indexing Errors helps.

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I will try these out later.
    We do NOT get any error message just the fact that the "Instant Search" does note work for most system searches. I have not tried searching for any data files as I do not know what Betty might search for.

    See the attachment, and see what we get when we search on "MSINFO32.EXE"
    Attached Images Attached Images

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Silly question maybe, but is it a 64 bit system ?? Is there a MSINFO64.EXE file on the system ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    No, it is a 32bit!

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='781288' date='23-Jun-2009 12:33']No, it is a 32bit![/quote]

    Have you changed the default index locations? The "Program Files" & Windows folders are not indexed by default.

    Joe
    Joe

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    OK, I found the issue
    In Start, Properties, "Start Menu" tab, Customize, the "Search programs" check was removed.
    Now that it is checked, all is doing what it is suppose to do

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •