Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: System Restore

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thumbs up

    System Restore still isn't loading System Checkpoints. To try and fix it I went to Microsoft TechNet and found an article that said to run STDIAG.EXE.

    I found the file doing a search of my hard drive, next I went to Run and typed in the exe file name and got "Windows can't find the file." How can that be if I found it in Windows > system32 >dllcache. Version: 5.1.2600.0?

    FYI: The file is a tool to collect and CAB information for System Restore and SFP.

    I need someones help running that file.

    Thanks so much in advance.

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Did you try navigating to the file's location and simply double clicking on it ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It's not an executable file, Doc. It has that blue border at the top and can not be executed like an .exe file.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Are you talking about srdiag.exe ??? http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../bb490854.aspx

    And how could it not be an executable file if it has a .exe extension ???
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Maybe you should read this article in Kelly's Korner to help you understand System Restore and maybe troubleshoot your issue.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='Duchess843' post='781038' date='22-Jun-2009 12:33']System Restore still isn't loading System Checkpoints.[/quote]

    1.) Is this XP?
    2.) What service pack is installed?
    3.) Are all other XP patches installed?
    4.) Do you mean
    a.) Restore points are not being created
    or
    b.) System restore is unable to use an existing Restore point?
    5.) Have you just tried re-booting the system?
    6.) Have you already followed the steps at Troubleshooting steps for issues when you try to use the System Restore tool in Windows XP?
    7.) BTW, the file name is SRDIAG.EXE not STDIAG.EXE.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Duchess843,
    Hello, I'm not sure as i run Vista home premium, but i have never had any reliable results with " system restore" and now have turned it off! A much more reliable way is to do a backup, before doing anything! ShadowProtect , Acronis, Paragon whatever. System restore is a "buggy" program (on my system ) worked maybe one out of three times for me (over a year of trying). Besides saving disk space with "useless restore points" Just not worth the effort. My 2cents Regards
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='Just Plain Fred' post='781112' date='22-Jun-2009 19:09']Duchess843,
    Hello, I'm not sure as i run Vista home premium, but i have never had any reliable results with " system restore" and now have turned it off! A much more reliable way is to do a backup, before doing anything! ShadowProtect , Acronis, Paragon whatever. System restore is a "buggy" program (on my system ) worked maybe one out of three times for me (over a year of trying). Besides saving disk space with "useless restore points" Just not "worth the effort". My 2cents Regards[/quote]
    Well "Just Plain Fred", I don't agree at all. It's probably a matter of personal experience, but I've used System Restore MANY times with both XP and Vista, and I've never had a failure. My "useless restore points" have been anything but "useless", and while these restore points do take up disk space, I find it CERTAINLY"worth the effort".

    I agree that image backups (at least for me) are mandatory, but the majority of users do NOT use such software. To me, that's just inviting disaster. It's not a matter of "if" a drive will fail or become corrupted, it's simply a matter of "when". But until such a mishap occurs, System Restore has served me admirably.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I agree with John, but would add two cautions.

    First, remember that you can specify the amount of hard drive memory you are willing to allot to restore points, and that will depend on the size of your drive, and you can set them manually in addition to all of the automatic saves. You specify the percentage of the drive, and some of today's drives are gigantic. That is relative, I know, but the drive on the computer I am writing this on is 640 GB, which is is pretty big for an off-the-shelf computer in my book.

    Second, and this is my personal experience, I have been encountering a lot of drive errors which made a royal mess of everything, and a restore point will NOT save you from those. CHKDSK will, and utilities that employ CHKDSK, directly or indirectly, will. I received a solicitation by email from Ashampoo today for a drive maintenance utility that is in the pipeline from that source, for example. Incidentally, I don't think my drive is failing, but I do suspect that my runs-in-the-background defragmenter may be the culprit. In any event, I suggest that if things are going haywire, run CHKDSK by one means or another early enough in the game to exclude drive errors.

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Rebel,
    Hello, In the past (6months or so)I have tried "system restore" 5 or 6 times , say 3 out of these have failed . Error message "Restore has Failed Blah Blah Blah" If you restore/backup strategy fails even once its less than useless as it gives the user a false sense that all is well . My advise to anyone who wants to use "system restore" is to try it. pick a restore point and "let er rip" but don't be surprised if you get an error message. Also if "system restore" is as wonderful as you say ,why are there still software companies successfully producing and marketing backup / imaging software? I would also be willing to wager that most if not all of the moderators/ admin's on this board use some kind of 2nd party backup software. Regards
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Most FAILED restore points are the result of the AV program or some other PROTECTION program not allowing the restore to write replace some files.

    I agree with John and Peter, these restore points will and do work. They are a lot better than making a image 2 or 3 times a day if one is installing a lot of software and or updates. By the way, many programs on install will make a restore point, which will help in the case of a bad install.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='781063' date='22-Jun-2009 15:54']Are you talking about srdiag.exe ??? http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../bb490854.aspx

    And how could it not be an executable file if it has a .exe extension ??? [/quote]

    Sorry Doc, I misspoke. I didn't try to open it, just assumed that it wouldn't open. I did open the search page all the way to see the Type. I did that today and it opened to window with a black background and only a blinking cursor.

    I tried to open it using Run and got the same one I did yesterday. "Windows cannot find the file."
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Angry

    [quote name='DocWatson' post='781064' date='22-Jun-2009 15:59']Maybe you should read this article in Kelly's Korner to help you understand System Restore and maybe troubleshoot your issue.[/quote]

    I think I understand System Restore, I've only been using it for 3 years. Each and every day I create a restore point manually and on several occassions SR has saved my bacon.

    What I don't understand is my original complaint, it doesn't make System Checkpoints.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  14. #14
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='781224' date='23-Jun-2009 10:46']Most FAILED restore points are the result of the AV program or some other PROTECTION program not allowing the restore to write replace some files.

    I agree with John and Peter, these restore points will and do work. They are a lot better than making a image 2 or 3 times a day if one is installing a lot of software and or updates. By the way, many programs on install will make a restore point, which will help in the case of a bad install.[/quote]
    DaveA Hello,
    I use Norton 360, and MalwareBytes, And never had a problem using Acronis TI-11 (8101) with them. As far as other program's downloads making "restore points" , as far as i can tell they can't unless you have "system restore " turned on. Regards
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='781070' date='22-Jun-2009 16:05']1.) Is this XP?
    2.) What service pack is installed?
    3.) Are all other XP patches installed?
    4.) Do you mean
    a.) Restore points are not being created
    or
    b.) System restore is unable to use an existing Restore point?
    5.) Have you just tried re-booting the system?
    6.) Have you already followed the steps at Troubleshooting steps for issues when you try to use the System Restore tool in Windows XP?
    7.) BTW, the file name is SRDIAG.EXE not STDIAG.EXE.

    Joe[/quote]

    My operating system is Windows XP Home Edition with SP2.
    All patches are installed except the latest, Woody said to hold off.
    Manual restore points are being created, just not the ones SR is supposed to install automatically.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •