Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Is there a way to disable this applet (activated with Win-P)?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I found the following
    8. Switch to a projector
    Windows 7 now provides a standard way to switch your display from one monitor to another, or a projector – just press Win+P or run DisplaySwitch.exe and choose your preferred display. (This will have no effect if you’ve only one display connected.)
    From http://www.pctipsbox.com/new-applets-and-f...s-in-windows-7/


    How many displays do you have connected?

    Why do you want to disable this?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='782172' date='28-Jun-2009 09:01']I found the following

    From http://www.pctipsbox.com/new-applets-and-f...s-in-windows-7/


    How many displays do you have connected?

    Why do you want to disable this?[/quote]

    Dave, I only have one connected. That key combination though is built into another program I use, as as I won't need the "switch" I was going to turn it off.

    It DOES have an effect if only one monitor is there which tipsbox infers that it does not. If I press Win-P, the applet pops up and I see [Computer Only" "Duplicate" "Extend" "Projector Only"]. All of which for me is pointless.

    In addition, if I inadvertently hit it twice, it totally switches my resolution.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I have only one display and I get nothing when using this short cut.

    The fact that this "this program" uses it, just may have to be changed to be Windows 7 compliant. If I remember right, I think Microsoft has been trying to discourage ANY use of the Windows key in any third party defined shortcut, for the above reason.

    As far as I know, one can NOT disable ANY of the Microsoft defined Windows Key short cuts.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='782177' date='28-Jun-2009 09:42']I have only one display and I get nothing when using this short cut.

    The fact that this "this program" uses it, just may have to be changed to be Windows 7 compliant. If I remember right, I think Microsoft has been trying to discourage ANY use of the Windows key in any third party defined shortcut, for the above reason.

    As far as I know, one can NOT disable ANY of the Microsoft defined Windows Key short cuts.[/quote]

    OK, thnaks Dave.

    I guess I was just windering/hoping if it was one of the Windws "Featuers" that could be turned off.

    And the answer is "no".

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='CWBillow' post='782139' date='28-Jun-2009 08:36']Is there a way to disable this applet (activated with Win-P)?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow[/quote]
    You have asked this question before Post 757699, and since I don't believe there is way to change the Windows keys you will have to stop using Win-P or change the other program.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='Argus' post='782179' date='28-Jun-2009 09:58']You have asked this question before Post 757699, and since I don't believe there is way to change the Windows keys you will have to stop using Win-P or change the other program.[/quote]

    yeah, so I'm told.

    Thanks,
    CHuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •