Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Nottinghamshire, England
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Help!

    I've been asked to look at a computer and while I know a little I don't really know a lot.

    When its switched on it comes up with the usual page for putting it into safe mode ie:"We apologize for the inconvenience, but Windows did not start successfully ... it goes on to give the usual options safe mode, safe mode with networking and safe mode with prompt ...

    No matter what option I choose it does the same thing. The Windows XP page flashes up, then a page saying E Machines and then it goes back to page as above. Right now it is just counting down the 30 seconds before it starts in Windows and then it goes through the same routine again, and again.

    Its not my computer but so I don't know what has happened to it. It has not been connected to the internet though.

    Anybody got any idea where I should start??
    thanks

    xxx

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='lorraine123' post='783837' date='09-Jul-2009 16:01']When its switched on it comes up with the usual page for putting it into safe mode ie:"We apologize for the inconvenience, but Windows did not start successfully ... it goes on to give the usual options safe mode, safe mode with networking and safe mode with prompt ...

    No matter what option I choose it does the same thing. The Windows XP page flashes up, then a page saying E Machines and then it goes back to page as above. Right now it is just counting down the 30 seconds before it starts in Windows and then it goes through the same routine again, and again.[/quote]
    When you start to boot, press the F8 key a few times to get you to the options screen. There should be a choice to "start with the last known good configuration". Scroll down and select that and press enter. See if that will give you a "normal" boot sequence.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Nottinghamshire, England
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your reply Viking

    That is the page that the computer is starting up on, if I select the last known good configuration it just goes through the same routine ... windows xp page, e machines and then back to that page with all the options on ... safe mode, safe mode with networking, safe mode with command, last known good configuration and then it counts down 30 seconds and starts all over again.

    xx

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='lorraine123' post='783919' date='10-Jul-2009 03:00'][/quote]
    If you (or your friend) have the Windows XP installation CD, you may want to try a Repair Installation. If Service Packs have been added to the computer since the original installation, you may have to create a new Windows install CD with the appropriate service pack included (see this article for slipstreaming Windows XP with the appropriate service pack).
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Nottinghamshire, England
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    OK thanks for that

    I shall ask if they have a disc don't think it has had any service packs added as its not been connected to the internet.

    thanks again
    xx

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='lorraine123' post='783962' date='10-Jul-2009 08:13']OK thanks for that

    I shall ask if they have a disc don't think it has had any service packs added as its not been connected to the internet.

    thanks again
    xx[/quote]
    John's suggestion to do a Repair Install is probably the next logical step but you can also check this link to 10 steps you can do if your computer won't boot
    A lot of the steps do require that you have the CD available but not all.

    Another question is, Is this computer an "OEM" type like Dell, HP, Compaq or such?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Nottinghamshire, England
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The monitor says its a Dell and the screen that flashes up says e-machines, so to be honest I'm not really sure.

    I'm waiting on the restore CD.

    thanks
    xx

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    That would be a Dell monitor connected to an eMachine OEM setup. If you use the supplied "Restore CD" it will revert the computer to the state it was in when it first came out of the box and all data and programs installed since that time will be lost.

    A Repair Installation is very different from a Restore using a factory supplied CD.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •