Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Template Form

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    207
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Created a form that I want to be a template for other people in my group to use. We plan to store this template on the server so other people can access it.

    Question. I updated my AutoCorrect dictionary with information I and other people can use when they are completing the form. Is there a way when they open the template my Autocorrect
    dictionary is linked to it? I don't want all other 40 people having to update each of their AutoCorret dictionary.

    Thanks....

  2. #2
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    [quote name='TheDon' post='784820' date='15-Jul-2009 15:04']Created a form that I want to be a template for other people in my group to use. We plan to store this template on the server so other people can access it.

    Question. I updated my AutoCorrect dictionary with information I and other people can use when they are completing the form. Is there a way when they open the template my Autocorrect
    dictionary is linked to it? I don't want all other 40 people having to update each of their AutoCorret dictionary.

    Thanks....[/quote]
    Your AutoCorrect is specific to your installation of word.

    What version of Word are you working with - because the terminology changes a bit between 2003-2007.
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    207
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='TheDon' post='784820' date='15-Jul-2009 22:04']Created a form that I want to be a template for other people in my group to use. We plan to store this template on the server so other people can access it.

    Question. I updated my AutoCorrect dictionary with information I and other people can use when they are completing the form. Is there a way when they open the template my Autocorrect
    dictionary is linked to it? I don't want all other 40 people having to update each of their AutoCorret dictionary.

    Thanks....[/quote]

    Word 2003

  4. #4
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Ok then, in Word 2003 you will store your text entries as AutoText entries.
    To make sure that everyone who uses the template has the same AutoText entries you can store them in the template itself. If you have the template open at the time you create the AutoText entry - you can choose to store them in the template. If you have already created a bunch of entries you use the Organizer to move and copy entries from template to template.

    To use AutoText, highlight the text you wish to turn into an AutoText entry and then go to the Tools, AutoCorrectOptions menu. Select the AutoText tab. From here you can name the entry and choose (using the Look in dropdown) where you will store the entry. If your AutoText entry has at name at least 4 characters long, the users will get the AutoComplete popup as they start to type the name in.

    To get to the Organizer Tools, Templates and Addins and click the Organizer button in the lower left hand corner of the dialogue box.


    hmm I note nested bold and italic tags are all funky.
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •