Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Feltham, Middlesex, England
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Recycle Bin Confirmation

    Does anyone know how to avoid all confirmation dialogs when deleting files without sending them to the Recycle Bin?

    Most of the time, I delete files totally by holding down the shift key. I don't want to select the 'Do not move files to the Recyle Bin' option, as I still send them there when I think I may want to recall them.

    Even with 'Display delete confirmation dialog' unchecked, though, I still get the 'This is a program. Do you really want to delete it?' and 'Do you really want to delete this read-only file?' dialogs.

    Does anyone know how to avoid them, with a registry setting, for instance?

    Mike

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Recycle Bin Confirmation

    Try this link at <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.microsoft.com/windows2000/en/professional/help/default.asp?url=/windows2000/en/professional/help/recycle_bin_del_conf_box.htm>MS</A> for a round-up of confirmation messages.
    Looks like you can't avoid the message if you are bypassing the recycle bin.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Feltham, Middlesex, England
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Recycle Bin Confirmation

    Thanks, Leif.

    Yes, I was pretty sure I'd covered all the standard options. I just wondered whether there there was something 'under the hood'.

    Mike

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •