Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thumbs up

    OK.....I'm trying to determine which version of WIN 7 has remote desktop connection. I currently have it in WIN/XP Media version, but not in VISTA Home Premium. What I need it for is to be able to log into a Windows Home Server running on a HP EX485.

    So I'm not sure if the "client" version is sufficient (apparently in all versions of WIN 7) or do I need the "host" capabilities?

    Thanks. Dan

  2. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,827
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 109 Times in 103 Posts
    [quote name='Dan99' post='785079' date='17-Jul-2009 15:29']OK.....I'm trying to determine which version of WIN 7 has remote desktop connection. I currently have it in WIN/XP Media version, but not in VISTA Home Premium. What I need it for is to be able to log into a Windows Home Server running on a HP EX485.

    So I'm not sure if the "client" version is sufficient (apparently in all versions of WIN 7) or do I need the "host" capabilities?[/quote]
    Dan, I don't know if this analogy would work but I use MSTSC v6.1 (and previously earlier versions, 6.0 and 5) from XP Pro PCs to Remote Desktop into either a second PC running XP Pro, or servers running Windows Server 2003 and Windows Server 2003 R2. This is on the local LAN or over a VPN connection from home to work.

    There are ever so many hits from Googling for "windows 7 remote desktop", and there are some comments in a recent Windows Secrets newsletter by our very own Woody Leonhard!
    BATcher

    Dear Diary, today the Hundred Years War started ...

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,517
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    [quote name='Dan99' post='785079' date='17-Jul-2009 09:29']OK.....I'm trying to determine which version of WIN 7 has remote desktop connection. I currently have it in WIN/XP Media version, but not in VISTA Home Premium. What I need it for is to be able to log into a Windows Home Server running on a HP EX485.

    So I'm not sure if the "client" version is sufficient (apparently in all versions of WIN 7) or do I need the "host" capabilities?[/quote]

    MSTSC.EXE is the client and should be sufficient to connect to WHS. I use it occasionally at home to connect to WHS with an XP Pro PC, A Vist Home Premium PC, and a Vista Ultimate PC. Are you trying to connect on your own lan or from the outside? If it is from the outside you'll have to configure your router to accept the RDP port.

    Joe

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='785165' date='17-Jul-2009 19:55']MSTSC.EXE is the client and should be sufficient to connect to WHS. I use it occasionally at home to connect to WHS with an XP Pro PC, A Vist Home Premium PC, and a Vista Ultimate PC. Are you trying to connect on your own lan or from the outside? If it is from the outside you'll have to configure your router to accept the RDP port.

    Joe[/quote]
    Joe......thanks. I guess I was confused. As I had read on various websites (I know you can't believe everything you read on the web ) that VISTA Home Premium didn't support Remote Desktop Connection. Based on you reply I just looked, and sure enough MSTSC.EXE is there. Guess maybe the confusion is on "client" versus "host".

    So can I assume the "C" in MSTSC.EXE stands for "client" and this capability will be in the various WIN 7 Home versions.

    Thanks for your help. Dan

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    And just to add to your reading material, see the table in: Do you need more than Windows 7 Home Premium?

    It appears you DO if you want to play "host."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •