Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    Where do you find the Link tables option?

    Everything is so hard to find compared to Access 2003. Or at least entirely different.
    It takes a long time to find things in here.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Activate the External Data tab of the Ribbon.
    In the Import group, click the Access button.
    Click Browse and select the database containing the table(s) you want to link to.
    Click "Link to the data source by creating a linked table", then click OK.
    Select the table(s) you want to link to.
    Click OK to finish the operation.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='785150' date='18-Jul-2009 10:33']Activate the External Data tab of the Ribbon.
    In the Import group, click the Access button.
    Click Browse and select the database containing the table(s) you want to link to.
    Click "Link to the data source by creating a linked table", then click OK.
    Select the table(s) you want to link to.
    Click OK to finish the operation.[/quote]
    Isn't it ridiculous, you dont have Access 2007 yet you know where to find things, thank you Hans

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    I don't have Access 2007, but I do have Google...

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='785155' date='18-Jul-2009 10:40']I don't have Access 2007, but I do have Google... [/quote]
    Good one, i tend to use that too, haha.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    One minor detail in linking to SQL Server tables is that you have to click the "More" on the External Data ribbon, and then choose ODBC. That brings up a dialog that asks which data source you want to use. Pick the appropriate SQL Database ODBC data source and a list of tables and views is displayed.
    Wendell

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    [quote name='WendellB' post='786777' date='30-Jul-2009 15:41']One minor detail in linking to SQL Server tables is that you have to click the "More" on the External Data ribbon, and then choose ODBC. That brings up a dialog that asks which data source you want to use. Pick the appropriate SQL Database ODBC data source and a list of tables and views is displayed.[/quote]
    Thanks Wendell, you answered the wrong post. I have another post asking that question.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •