Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    359
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Is it possible to add a new value/record directly in the Lookup Box?
    For example, can I type "Academic Press" directly in the Lookup Box? How?
    The publisher field (column) actually stores PublisherID (autonum data type).
    Armstrong
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    You can use the Not In List event to trigger the addition of a record in the Publisher record using either DAO or ADO, and then save the record in the combo box. Search for that event in the Access forum and you will find several discussions about doing that.
    Wendell

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    359
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='WendellB' post='785486' date='21-Jul-2009 07:34']You can use the Not In List event to trigger the addition of a record in the Publisher record using either DAO or ADO, and then save the record in the combo box. Search for that event in the Access forum and you will find several discussions about doing that.[/quote]
    Hi WendellB,
    Thanks for your rapid rescue. At least you tell where I can start.
    Thanks a lot.
    Armstrong

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    What version of Access are you using?
    2007 has made a lot of changes in this area.
    Regards
    John



  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    359
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='johnhutchison' post='785499' date='21-Jul-2009 09:49']What version of Access are you using?
    2007 has made a lot of changes in this area.[/quote]
    Yes, 2007 is the working version.
    Armstrong

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    In 2007 there are now
    • Allow Value List Edits
    • List Items Edit Form
    Properties for Combo boxes (and List boxes)

    If they are set to Yes, then you can edit the relevant list with a Right Click.

    But I still prefer to use a "not in list" event.
    Regards
    John



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •