Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    A cultural area in SW England
    Thanked 186 Times in 171 Posts
    An organisation has some computers (in a workgroup) which are now used by persons different from those who originally used them when they were new. I suspect they have renamed 'various things', but they now find, on applying screen-savers which activate after the usual timeout period, that they're presented with a different name to log back on.

    Am I right in thinking that the only practical method of avoiding this problem is to start from scratch with a new user profile, and building it up to match the renamed one?

    Has anyone had any success with something simpler?

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    [quote name='BATcher' post='785748' date='22-Jul-2009 14:33']Has anyone had any success with something simpler?[/quote]
    I have had some success in the past by copying the profile with all the useful stuff to the default profile. Then creating the new user and logging in. Then deleting the original user.

    Your mileage may vary.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts