Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I changed (upgraded) to version 3.4 in the middle of a week of incrementals and didn't have a problem, in spite of the "new" Image Manager.

    But, today when I ran my full image backup of three partitions (two physical drives) SP ran at 16-18 MB/s where, in the past, it has run at 20-22 MB/s. Very disappointing detraction in SPEED! I tried both with and without the "new" MD5 Image Manager and that didn't help. I read on their forums that it's difficult if not impossible to go back to version 3.3 which is what I'm tempted to do.

    I posted a message on their forum and will wait to see what (if any) response I get.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='786248' date='26-Jul-2009 00:08'][/quote]
    How long does your full backup take? My first one took 20 minutes for about 20 GB (compressed output), which seems to me to be quite acceptable. If mine took hours, I would simply schedule it overnight, like I do for server backups, which do take hours!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='BATcher' post='786265' date='26-Jul-2009 04:05']How long does your full backup take?[/quote]
    That's difficult to say now because the SP history log shows that all three partitions started at the same time because it was a "combo" backup job. The logs for all three show about an hour for 73 gig which doesn't look too bad.

    But I was judging by the observation of the progress bar as the backup jobs are in process. The MB/s times reported in the progress box used to be 20-22 MB/s and are (yesterday) running at 16-18 MB/s.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='786271' date='26-Jul-2009 11:11'][/quote]
    You've not, by any chance, changed the compression type?
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='BATcher' post='786272' date='26-Jul-2009 06:18']You've not, by any chance, changed the compression type?[/quote]
    Not intentionally and this cobbled up clip shows the comparison, week to week:

    [attachment=84861:Image1.png]

    Edited to add:
    I forgot to say that the backup job window still says "standard" (recommended) although it's grayed out now because of the daily incrementals.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='786248' date='25-Jul-2009 19:08']I read on their forums that it's difficult if not impossible to go back to version 3.3 which is what I'm tempted to do.

    I posted a message on their forum and will wait to see what (if any) response I get.[/quote]

    Why not just restore an image from before you made the change/upgrade ???
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='786325' date='26-Jul-2009 15:58']Why not just restore an image from before you made the change/upgrade ???[/quote]
    Yeah, you're right Doc! It's just that I've done so much to the system in the past week or so, I'd have to do a lot of installing and uninstalling to bring it back to "today's" state. Because this is not a show-stopping problem, I'm just planning to take a wait and see approach to see if something develops on the SP forum. Thanks for the suggestion/reminder!

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Don't forget to save one of those images from that time... "just in case".
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee,Wisconsin USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have had ShadowProtect Ver 3.4 on both of my laptops .I had contact with the technical support team at Storagecraft and they told me that there where problems with Ver 3.4 and told me to upgrade to Version 3.5 which I did.I have no longer had any problems with ShadowProtect since I put Ver 3.5 on my laptops.Hope this helps,Gary

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Well, I'll be...

    How long has 3.5 been available and I'm terribly surprised that it has NOT been mentioned here in this forum.

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigaldoc View Post
    How long has 3.5 been available and I'm terribly surprised that it has NOT been mentioned here in this forum.
    Nate announced the availability of 3.5 in the SP forums on September 24 Al.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rebel View Post
    Nate announced the availability of 3.5 in the SP forums on September 24 Al.
    Version 3.5.1 was posted Friday, December 11, 2009. However, the ISO file has not been updated... still sitting at 3.5. Hopefully, the ISO update will appear on Monday.

    3.5.1 update

    Link for the ISO file

    The above links will NOT affect your download count. The link for the ISO file requires entering your serial number and will provide a Download Manager. When the DL Manager is run, it will start the download of the ISO file which is over 320mb.

    Hope this help.
    Regards,
    Bob

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Archell View Post
    Version 3.5.1 was posted Friday, December 11, 2009. However, the ISO file has not been updated... still sitting at 3.5. Hopefully, the ISO update will appear on Monday.
    Thanks for the heads-up, Bob. I'm searching the SP Forum trying to find what's the cause of this version. It's not like them to release a "double dot" version, so it must be something kinda serious but I can't find it so far. Any idea whassup?

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigaldoc View Post
    Thanks for the heads-up, Bob. I'm searching the SP Forum trying to find what's the cause of this version. It's not like them to release a "double dot" version, so it must be something kinda serious but I can't find it so far. Any idea whassup?
    I believe there was an issue concerning corrupted incrementals in a Windows 7 environment... but only in certain conditions. I have W7 Ultimate but have held off updating until the fix was in. There are a couple of threads. Here's one of them
    Regards,
    Bob

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Archell View Post
    I believe there was an issue concerning corrupted incrementals in a Windows 7 environment... but only in certain conditions...
    Thanks for the reference, Bob. Hmmm, I wonder where that leaves someone like me. Here's a re-statement of my setup:

    I have a multi-boot system, consisting of XP, Vista and Win 7. Since XP is and has been my "normal" OS, it is where my Shadow Protect is installed and run. I run a weekly full image (from within XP) of ALL THREE partitions, and a nightly incremental of same. In the past, I've had to use those images to do partial and full restores of the Vista partition and never had any problem in doing so.

    I've NOT had to do any restoration of an image of Win 7 so I don't know if I might have had a problem had I tried to do so. But, I've downloaded the 3.5.1 and will install it later tonight.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •