Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Griffith, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    507
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have one machine (XP SP3) on my network that has two printers attached to it. It has a Canon inkjet connected via a USB port, and a Kyocera laser printer connected via a parrellel to USB converter cable.

    Both priners are shared out.

    From my second machine (again XP SP3) on the network, I have never been able to print to the Kyocera. It hasn't really worried me because I can work around it.

    But I have just added a third machine (Vista Home Premium SP1) to the network and it has the same issues with the printers. That is, it can print to the Canon, but not the Kyocera.

    I am at a bit of a loss to see why this is happening. The third machine needs to be able to print to the laser printer and the user is less tolerant (sorry, Mr Johbot) of having to 'work around' it as I do.

    Can anyone help restore network / sharing bliss?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Check the third party firewall on the machine that the Kyocera is connected to. Make sure that the firewall is NOT blocking access.
    Can you access a drive or folder that the Kyocera is connected to from any other machine?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Griffith, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    507
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='787164' date='02-Aug-2009 13:02']Check the third party firewall on the machine that the Kyocera is connected to. Make sure that the firewall is NOT blocking access.
    Can you access a drive or folder that the Kyocera is connected to from any other machine?[/quote]
    Hi Dave,

    Yes, I can access all the drives and folders on the machine with the Kyocera.

    It seems funny that machine one can share one printer (and data) and not the other printer.

    Johanna

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='johbot' post='787166' date='01-Aug-2009 23:18'][/quote]
    I have no idea whether or not this may be the problem, but I've not had success with parallel to USB cables. In theory, they should work properly, but I've found them unreliable at best. I replaced these with parallel port cards in both machines I had troubles with, and VOILA . . . no more problems. A replacement might be worth a try (and these parallel port cards are not expensive).
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  5. #5
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='johbot' post='787160' date='02-Aug-2009 03:19'][/quote]
    I've just had some fun trying to network three (different) Dell printers to four PCs in a workgroup, and some are more recalcitrant than others. If actually setting up the connection to a networked printer in Add Printers doesn't work (a driver is supposed to be copied across from the machine to which the printer is attached), I've found I can get it to work by physically connecting the printer to the required PC, then installing it as a local printer, then deleting it (which doesn't delete the drivers, as you know). Then I move everything back to where it was originally, and reconnect, then do the Add Printer on that PC again.

    However, as Rebel says, you have an additional complication with the parallel-USB converter...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='johbot' post='787166' date='01-Aug-2009 22:18']Hi Dave,

    Yes, I can access all the drives and folders on the machine with the Kyocera.

    It seems funny that machine one can share one printer (and data) and not the other printer.[/quote]

    Check out Troubleshooting file shares on a home network - Woody's Lounge and some of the links there.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Griffith, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    507
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks John,

    I was wondering if it was the cable that was the problem. Unfortunately, the machine in question is one of those new, sexy looking small form machines and only has USB ports (hence the need for the cable).

    But it is only the sharing that is the issue. That cable works fine for the machine that it is connected to.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Do you have a computer with a parallel port that you could plug this printer into?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Griffith, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    507
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='787333' date='04-Aug-2009 01:06']Do you have a computer with a parallel port that you could plug this printer into?[/quote]
    Hi Dave,

    That used to be the situation, but with the retirement of the computer doing that job, there is no machine to do that anymore. Or, at least, not one that I want to leave on running as a print server.

    I might have a look at parallel to wireless options. Does nayone have experience with those?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Or, at least, not one that I want to leave on running as a print server.
    Could you set this one up and try it, it just may prove that it is the special cable that is the problem.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •