Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I have the RTM ISO file, I extracted it to a Virtual drive, and the files seem to be there. I use ISOBuster to extract the files. I copied these file to a folder to the hard drive. See attachment.
    I burned a DVD, but it does not seem to be able to boot to it using a HP Pavilion a6528p with Vista.
    Place the DVD in the player, Start up machine, hit esc key to get to the Boot Menu, and the select "ATA P1 DVD A DH16A6L". It pauses for a few seconds and then, just goes into Vista which is a 32 bit OS.
    Attached Images Attached Images

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    763
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='788016' date='07-Aug-2009 22:08']I have the RTM ISO file, I extracted it to a Virtual drive, and the files seem to be there. I use ISOBuster to extract the files. I copied these file to a folder to the hard drive. See attachment.
    I burned a DVD, but it does not seem to be able to boot to it using a HP Pavilion a6528p with Vista.
    Place the DVD in the player, Start up machine, hit esc key to get to the Boot Menu, and the select "ATA P1 DVD A DH16A6L". It pauses for a few seconds and then, just goes into Vista which is a 32 bit OS.[/quote]

    What exactly did you burn to the DVD?
    Regards,
    PaulB

  4. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    The files and folders listed in the attachment above.

    Is there something else that needs to added?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Now that I have been doing more searching, I guess I need a few lessons on how to make a Bootable DVD".
    All of the Google hits are talking about using a "Floppy" and some files.

    Where does one get these"files" to be on a floppy and how are they burned to the DVD?

    I see FD Emulation 1.44 and 2.88, and then Hard disk emulation and also no emulation, which should be used?

    Then how does one burn the rest of the files to the DVD?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,538
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='788074' date='08-Aug-2009 12:10']Now that I have been doing more searching, I guess I need a few lessons on how to make a Bootable DVD".
    All of the Google hits are talking about using a "Floppy" and some files.

    Where does one get these"files" to be on a floppy and how are they burned to the DVD?

    I see FD Emulation 1.44 and 2.88, and then Hard disk emulation and also no emulation, which should be used?

    Then how does one burn the rest of the files to the DVD?[/quote]

    You should be able to just burn the ISO to a DVD using almost any of the mainstream third party DVD burning programs. There is a free one called Burncdcc at TeraByte Unlimited :: Downloads :: Free Software :: Hard Drive Management.

    Joe

  7. #6
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    763
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='788074' date='08-Aug-2009 13:10']Now that I have been doing more searching, I guess I need a few lessons on how to make a Bootable DVD".
    All of the Google hits are talking about using a "Floppy" and some files.

    Where does one get these"files" to be on a floppy and how are they burned to the DVD?

    I see FD Emulation 1.44 and 2.88, and then Hard disk emulation and also no emulation, which should be used?

    Then how does one burn the rest of the files to the DVD?[/quote]

    As Joe said, you need only burn the *.iso file to the DVD. This will create a bootable DVD. There is no need to extract the files from the .iso. If you are doing this from Windows 7 RC, simply double-click on the .iso file in order to burn it to the DVD. Win 7 comes with DVD burner software for .iso files.
    Regards,
    PaulB

  8. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    [quote name='PaulB' post='788089' date='08-Aug-2009 13:50']As Joe said, you need only burn the *.iso file to the DVD. This will create a bootable DVD. There is no need to extract the files from the .iso. If you are doing this from Windows 7 RC, simply double-click on the .iso file in order to burn it to the DVD. Win 7 comes with DVD burner software for .iso files.[/quote]


    Thanks, that did it, I have 64 bit RTM installing at this time.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #8
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    763
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='788175' date='09-Aug-2009 13:10']Thanks, that did it, I have 64 bit RTM installing at this time.[/quote]

    You're welcome and good luck!
    Regards,
    PaulB

  10. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,538
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='788175' date='09-Aug-2009 12:10']Thanks, that did it, I have 64 bit RTM installing at this time.[/quote]

    You're welcome. Good luck with the install.

    Joe

  11. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Yes, I have Windows 7 RTM 64 Bit installed and running. I have NOT found issues with it as of yet. I even installed the printers from a Vista and a XP machine, and they work.

    Somehow ALL of our Vista machines and the new Win 7 can NOT see the Xp machine in Networkplaces, but the Beta machine with Win 7RC can. We did NOT have this problem yesterday, as I was copying from the XP machine to my Vista machine.

    I found the printer using the full address (Computer name and then printer name), and it connected just fine. I can print to the XP printer from the Vista machines, but can not see the XP machine in Networkplaces.

    This all happen about the same time as I was installing Win7 on the HP.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  12. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    My problem across the network has been solved.
    All I needed to do was shut down ALL machine and reset the switch and router. Then fired up each machine one at a time, all was able to find the others and now can access all others.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •