Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello,
    Since I installed SP2 on the 22nd of July, I am losing 1-2G of space a day from my hard drive.
    I have plenty of space so it's not a really bad problem, just irritating.
    I started out with 280G free of 338. When I installed SP2 it went down to about 260.
    Last night I was down to 239 and this morning it's 237.
    It usually happens overnight and I don't know where to being looking. Would it be restore point's or system check points?

    Other than that the computer is working fine..

    If someone could shed some light on this, I'd appreciate it.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    It might well be system restore - when you installed SP2, existing restore points were deleted, and now Windows is creating them again and keeping them up to the maximum allotted space. See How to reduce disk space used by Windows Vista system restore and Identifying how much disk space is used for restore points in Windows Vista.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='788040' date='08-Aug-2009 09:43']It might well be system restore - when you installed SP2, existing restore points were deleted, and now Windows is creating them again and keeping them up to the maximum allotted space. See How to reduce disk space used by Windows Vista system restore and Identifying how much disk space is used for restore points in Windows Vista.[/quote]

    Thanks Hans
    [attachment=85027:Capture.JPG]

    One other question.
    How does Vista decide whether to use the maximum space (50G) or the allocated space (40G)?
    Sorry to be a pest, but I like to know what's going on in my box..lol

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Vista will eventuall use up to the Maximum Shadow Copy Storage Space. It's this size that you can change by using vssadmin with the resize option.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='Peppurr101' post='788035' date='08-Aug-2009 08:33']If someone could shed some light on this, I'd appreciate it.[/quote]
    Shed your own light on the matter by running TreeSize Free!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='BATcher' post='788055' date='08-Aug-2009 08:24']Shed your own light on the matter by running TreeSize Free![/quote]
    Thanks! Nice utility to have around.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='788040' date='08-Aug-2009 04:43']It might well be system restore - when you installed SP2, existing restore points were deleted, and now Windows is creating them again and keeping them up to the maximum allotted space. See How to reduce disk space used by Windows Vista system restore and Identifying how much disk space is used for restore points in Windows Vista.[/quote]
    That is definitely the first place to look; System Restore. And, the OP can use the "Disk Cleanup" utility to purge all but the last restore point. Go to: "Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > Disk Cleanup". When the utility opens check those items you want deleted and then click on the "More Options" tab and then finally, click on "Clean up" under the "System Restore and Shadow Copies" item.

    I use this utility often as long as everything is working okay, which is 99.9999% of the time. In fact, you also have the option to right-click on the shortcut and choose "Pin to Start Menu" so it is readily available.
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    I also was a regular user of Disk Cleanup until I installed cCleaner. It does everything Disk Cleanup does and a lot more. It also gives you more control over what you cleanup so you can selectively save necessary cookies for site logins (like the Lounge cookie) from being removed each time the cleaner is run. It does more automatically than I was doing manually with several utilities and time consuming steps.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='Peppurr101' post='788035' date='08-Aug-2009 02:33']Hello,
    Since I installed SP2 on the 22nd of July, I am losing 1-2G of space from my hard drive.
    I have plenty of space so it's not a really bad problem, just irritating.
    I started out with 280G free of 338. When I installed SP2 it went down to about 260.
    Last night I was down to 239 and this morning it's 237.
    It usually happens overnight and I don't know where to being looking. Would it be restore point's or system check points?[/quote]

    You can also regain some space by running Service Pack Cleanup Tool In Vista SP2 To Clean up Old RTM & SP1 Backup Files.

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you all so much!
    At least now I know it's the restore points! I do have plenty of room to mess around with on my hard drive so I think I'll just let Vista do it's thing for now. However, at some point in future, (probably when I get my laptop for backup internet) I'll give the cleanup thingie a try.

    Thanks again!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •