Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Monte Sereno, California, USA
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Why am I getting this message every time I logon my ADMIN User?

    Windows Sidebar
    “Settings.ini is being used by another process. Close the other program and then click Retry, or click Cancel to exit Sidebar.”
    Retry or Cancel

    I have no idea what the other process or program is.
    Any ideas?

    I am also getting a message about Firefox already running

    Close Firefox
    “Firefox is already running, but is not responding. To open a new window, you must first close the existing Firefox process, or restart your system.”
    OK

    With the Task Manager, I do not see Firefox running as a Program or Process.
    Could there be a relation here?

    Vista Home Premimum with all updates thru July.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='raylsworth' post='788526' date='11-Aug-2009 19:20'][/quote]
    I don't know about the Sidebar thing, but I HAVE had that Firefox problem. Start with a look here to see if it helps:

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Monte Sereno, California, USA
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Al,
    Thanks for the reference.
    I have tried everything but the Profile suggestion. That will take a little study.
    I think my problem is actually with Secuna PSI. It advised me to update my Firefox 3.0.x a few days ago and things have been strange ever since. When I now try to do a recommended PSI download, I get this message:

    <<“The link you are trying to open requires Internet Explorer to function correctly and will therefore not use your default browser.” Press “OK” to continue,>>
    Firefox is NOT my default browser
    OK then opens IE 8.

    I am about ready to un(re)inststall both PSI and Firefox.
    How does FX 3.5 look?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='raylsworth' post='788658' date='12-Aug-2009 13:37']How does FX 3.5 look?[/quote]
    I've got no complaints about Fx latest version. The only time I've had any "trouble" is when dual or triple booting and trying to run Fx from the same profile as the "other" system.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Monte Sereno, California, USA
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='788709' date='12-Aug-2009 13:43']I've got no complaints about Fx latest version. The only time I've had any "trouble" is when dual or triple booting and trying to run Fx from the same profile as the "other" system.[/quote]
    I uninstalled PSI, but that did not fix any of my problems.
    It was giving false reports of security updates, so I will just go back to OSI.

    There is/was no FireFox "parent.lock" in the profile for my Admin User.
    FireFox works find and does create a "parent.lock" file in my non-admin user.

    I guess the next step to uninstall FireFox.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •