Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,407
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    I figured that even though I am running Windows 7 (b7100), that this seems more a hardware question:

    I have an external WD 750GB Book. Over the last few days, it started acting very flaky, and ultimately wouldn't read. Ultimately I decided to re-format the drive. It wouldn't format. It kept erroring out.

    Now, all of a sudden, it's recognized and I can read and write to it.

    Is it possible that the format took on part of the drive, but that the whole drive isn't formatted? If so, how can I get past the error? Do a "long format"?

    If not, then how can the drive possibly be reading/writing?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,790
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,085 Times in 951 Posts
    [quote name='CWBillow' post='788738' date='12-Aug-2009 20:31']I figured that even though I am running Windows 7 (b7100), that this seems more a hardware question:

    I have an external WD 750GB Book. Over the last few days, it started acting very flaky, and ultimately wouldn't read. Ultimately I decided to re-format the drive. It wouldn't format. It kept erroring out.

    Now, all of a sudden, it's recognized and I can read and write to it.

    Is it possible that the format took on part of the drive, but that the whole drive isn't formatted? If so, how can I get past the error? Do a "long format"?

    If not, then how can the drive possibly be reading/writing?[/quote]

    1.) Could be a drive problem. Firmware or an electrical issue. Have you checked the USB cable? Have you checked the drive's power cable?
    2.) Could be a PC hardware problem. Malfunction of USB port. Power issue. Have you tried it on a different port?
    3.) PC software problem. USB driver.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,407
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='788741' date='12-Aug-2009 18:51']1.) Could be a drive problem. Firmware or an electrical issue. Have you checked the USB cable? Have you checked the drive's power cable?
    2.) Could be a PC hardware problem. Malfunction of USB port. Power issue. Have you tried it on a different port?
    3.) PC software problem. USB driver.

    Joe[/quote]

    Joe, I tried a different cable first. That seemed to help -- for a while. Then I did a repair (upgrade) but that was no help.

    Then, all of a sudden, it was working -- so I was able to grab most of the important stuff off of it. Then it went again.

    The I thought, many drives at some point can need a reformat, so that's where I headed next.

    And it failed three times -- after running for some 10 minutes or so.

    And now I can read and write to / from it.

    So I'm not only baffled, but certainly worried about whether I should/can depend on that drive any longer.

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='CWBillow' post='788743' date='12-Aug-2009 23:57']... worried about whether I should/can depend on that drive any longer.[/quote]
    Just an opinion, but I wouldn't count on it.

    Is it possible that the format took on part of the drive, but that the whole drive isn't formatted?
    Can't you at a minimum, right-click, properties to see how much is there?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Could be that you are still running a Beta version of Windows 7.
    You are going to have to wait until you can get a "Retail" copy to find out for sure.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,407
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='788771' date='13-Aug-2009 04:30']Just an opinion, but I wouldn't count on it.


    Can't you at a minimum, right-click, properties to see how much is there?[/quote]

    Doc, I did check the properties, and it's showing roughly 700 gigs of capacity...I believe it's supposed to have 750 gigs --

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,407
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='788790' date='13-Aug-2009 06:59']Could be that you are still running a Beta version of Windows 7.
    You are going to have to wait until you can get a "Retail" copy to find out for sure.[/quote]

    What difference could that make, Dave? I'm running the RC b7100...

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='CWBillow' post='788935' date='14-Aug-2009 02:49']Doc, I did check the properties, and it's showing roughly 700 gigs of capacity...I believe it's supposed to have 750 gigs --[/quote]
    I'm afraid I haven't done any formatting in Win 7 yet, so I don't know if it "grabs" any drive space for itself.

    BUT, nevertheless with the flaky behavior you've seen, I wouldn't trust the drive any longer and think I would replace it. I can't believe how far down prices have come! Here's one where you can buy 1 T size drives for right around $100 something! ( external usb drives - Buy.com )

  9. #9
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,452
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 196 Times in 176 Posts
    [quote name='CWBillow' post='788935' date='14-Aug-2009 07:49']I did check the properties, and it's showing roughly 700 gigs of capacity...I believe it's supposed to have 750 gigs --[/quote]
    Did you do the "disk manufacturers' gigabytes" to "power-of-two gigabytes" conversion?

    Disk manufacturers regard 1 GB as 1,000,000,000 bytes whereas we mortals work in binary Gigabytes (the unit is actually called a Gibibyte - the "bi" means "binary", but rarely seen) which is 1024 x 1024 x 1024 bytes = 1,073,741,824 bytes

    So if the disk manufacturer tells you that you have bought 750 GB of disk space, it is actually 750 / 1.073741824 = 698.5 GB.

    Of course, that's before a good few MB is removed for the MFT and other such overheads...
    BATcher

    "The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you can never know if they are genuine."
    Abraham Lincoln
    

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    [quote name='CWBillow' post='788936' date='13-Aug-2009 23:50']What difference could that make, Dave? I'm running the RC b7100...

    Chuck[/quote]

    Because RTM is Build 7600 and there was a lot of TWEAKING going on.

    There were MANY issues submitted using large external USB drives, one of them that I know about was about not reporting the correct size of a external drive.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,407
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='788995' date='14-Aug-2009 07:47']Because RTM is Build 7600 and there was a lot of TWEAKING going on.

    There were MANY issues submitted using large external USB drives, one of them that I know about was about not reporting the correct size of a external drive.[/quote]

    Dave/BATcher:

    According to WD, it's 750 gigs ( http://support.wdc.com/product/kb.asp?fid=...amp;wdc_lang=en ). According to your math BAT, the 698 appears correct.

    So who is right, and how is this allowed to be (this discrepancy), and then, should I trust a drive that didn't even want to format, even though the size seems correct, and who has an aspirin, 'cause now I have a headache?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,407
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='788944' date='14-Aug-2009 03:24']I'm afraid I haven't done any formatting in Win 7 yet, so I don't know if it "grabs" any drive space for itself.

    BUT, nevertheless with the flaky behavior you've seen, I wouldn't trust the drive any longer and think I would replace it. I can't believe how far down prices have come! Here's one where you can buy 1 T size drives for right around $100 something! ( external usb drives - Buy.com )[/quote]

    Thanks Al, I'll check it out.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •