Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    3,730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi

    I've just taken delivery of a new POS system for my Subway store. It's all been preconfigured and most of it works well.

    I have been given two windows logins. One is for the people operating the POS (clerk login), and it gives me a very restricted view, which is sufficient for anybody to process payments for transactions.

    The other login is for Owner- it gives me control over the computer, but I do not have, nor cannot control, proper access to the POS functions while in this login.

    I would like to grant the Clerk mode people access to the desktop- or even just to MS Office- but access to anything but the basic essentials has been restricted severely. I can understand why. But I would like to be able to allow access for just one or two more functions.

    I'm quite unfamiliar with setting up XP security, and I can't see how to change it.

    Can somebody help me please?

    Thanks.
    Subway Belconnen- home of the Signboard to make you smile. Get (almost) daily updates- follow SubwayBelconnen on Twitter.

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    3,730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It's been a week since I posted this question

    If I have not explained properly please ask me questions.

    If I need to read the manual please tell me.

    But I would really appreciate a response from somebody please.
    Subway Belconnen- home of the Signboard to make you smile. Get (almost) daily updates- follow SubwayBelconnen on Twitter.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='gwhitfield' post='790348' date='23-Aug-2009 11:55']It's been a week since I posted this question

    If I have not explained properly please ask me questions.

    If I need to read the manual please tell me.

    But I would really appreciate a response from somebody please.[/quote]

    I suspect that you have embedded Windows XP. If that is the case maybe something here will help
    John (Unreconstructed Jacobite)

  4. #4
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='gwhitfield' post='790348' date='23-Aug-2009 11:55']It's been a week since I posted this question

    If I have not explained properly please ask me questions.

    If I need to read the manual please tell me.

    But I would really appreciate a response from somebody please.[/quote]
    Geoff

    Presumably it has been 'locked down' in unspecified ways to stop both ordinary clerks and enthusiastic owners from causing them too many support calls? Security by obscurity...

    But in any event, surely the Vendor's Technical Support people would be the ones to ask, since they should be intimately familiar with what they've done to the base XP software (if that's what it is)?
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Sorry Geoff... Didn't see the original post. I believe Jon has pointed you in the right direction and the page you want to start with Creating A Shell Component give pretty good how to instructions.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    3,730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='jonWallace' post='790351' date='23-Aug-2009 22:29']I suspect that you have embedded Windows XP. If that is the case maybe something here will help[/quote]That looks suspiciously like the case.

    I was hoping that there was something easy that I didn't know about. But embedding looks about three levels more complex than I am qualified to handle.

    So it looks as if I will have to fork out the bucks for technical support.

    Thanks for the replies. Much appreciated.
    Subway Belconnen- home of the Signboard to make you smile. Get (almost) daily updates- follow SubwayBelconnen on Twitter.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='gwhitfield' post='790573' date='25-Aug-2009 04:52']So it looks as if I will have to fork out the bucks for technical support.[/quote]
    I don't know anything about retailing products like POS, Geoff, so I haven't been able to contribute here, but your statement arouses my curiosity. Don't you get some level of free initial support for a "new" product?

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    3,730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='790577' date='25-Aug-2009 21:16']I don't know anything about retailing products like POS, Geoff, so I haven't been able to contribute here, but your statement arouses my curiosity. Don't you get some level of free initial support for a "new" product?[/quote]
    Hardware support is free. This is software. So I have to go through the paid support line. At least initially. I may have a case to get at least some of the fees waived.
    Subway Belconnen- home of the Signboard to make you smile. Get (almost) daily updates- follow SubwayBelconnen on Twitter.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •