Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    I am runing Vista home edition and IE 7.0.6001.18000. I ran Secunia's online scan for out-of-date software at secunia.com several times last night and then installed the latest Microsoft Updates this morning. After the installations were completed I tried to run a scan again to verify that the updates had eliminated all the problems it had reported: I opened IE and clicked on the scan selection on the first page. That brings up a new page where I selected Online Scan and that causes IE to close! I've gone through this process many times since this morning and it happens every time. I've also rebooted several times. I can open the online scan page without any problem on my wife's PC.

    I suspected that this indicated that I have been infected with malware of some kind so I had my anti-virus program (Viper) run a deep scan. That did not find any problem.

    Any idea what might be wrong or how to fix this?

    Thanks,
    Bill

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    The Online Secunia Inspector uses Java, so maybe there's a problem with Java on your PC. You might try reinstalling it - get it from Java Downloads for All Operating Systems.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    The Online Secunia Inspector uses Java, so maybe there's a problem with Java on your PC. You might try reinstalling it - get it from Java Downloads for All Operating Systems.
    Here is another reply that I did not receive an emailed notice for!

    I will try reinstalling Java from the location you suggested and see if that helps.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Reinstalling java has not helped! I've posted the same problem in the secunia.com forum but haven't received any useful advice there either.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    I don't have an explanation or solution, but you could download and install the Personal Software Inspector (PSI). The Secunia PSI is a stand-alone and more thorough version of the Online Software Inspector.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    [quote name='HansV' post='791092' date='28-Aug-2009 04:49']I don't have an explanation or solution, but you could download and install the Personal Software Inspector (PSI). The Secunia PSI is a stand-alone and more thorough version of the Online Software Inspector.[/quote]
    Actualy, I have PSI installed too and it gives me different results sometimes so I tend to also run the online scan when I recieve a notice that the requirements list has changed.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='BillWilson' post='791196' date='28-Aug-2009 13:55']Actualy, I have PSI installed too and it gives me different results sometimes so I tend to also run the online scan when I recieve a notice that the requirements list has changed.[/quote]

    When IE closes is there an indication of an error?
    Have you checked the event logs?
    Have you tried disabling some other IE addons? You can't disable them all as Java is an addon.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •