Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    299
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry,

    I know that in the past, several posts have been answered with "there are several good sources for SQL on the net, please look for them." And please redirect this, as necessary.

    Here's the deal.

    1. My office set up a virtual developer machine where they installed SQL2008(Express) and BIDS(Business Intelligence Development Studio).

    2. I'm trying to upload some XML data to my handy dandy db on SQL2008.

    This sounds simple, but here's what I'm getting:

    1. Setting up a connection manager - it won't find my handy dandy db. If I put the name in the Logical Name, and save it, everything seems to be okay until I go to either test out the connection manager or try to run my package. I just keep getting one of two messages - either my Windows login doesn't have permission to use my handy dandy db or I am already in my handy dandy db and blocking my package.

    2. I've tried moving my handy dandy db (and I know this is a big no-no) into the Master db, but when I do this, it still isn't available and then the same disaster awaits as in #1 above.

    I would just as soon keep everything on the BIDS project in XML, since I'm trying to interface with another application, but the XML I have now is for lookup tables and I fear once I get the test data, it will be looking for those lookup tables in the XML references.

    Any suggestions? I'm supposed to have something for this project by next week.
    Carpy Diem, it's .

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='garbsmj' post='789744' date='19-Aug-2009 09:41']1. My office set up a virtual developer machine where they installed SQL2008(Express) and BIDS(Business Intelligence Development Studio).

    2. I'm trying to upload some XML data to my handy dandy db on SQL2008.

    This sounds simple, but here's what I'm getting:

    1. Setting up a connection manager - it won't find my handy dandy db. If I put the name in the Logical Name, and save it, everything seems to be okay until I go to either test out the connection manager or try to run my package. I just keep getting one of two messages - either my Windows login doesn't have permission to use my handy dandy db or I am already in my handy dandy db and blocking my package.

    2. I've tried moving my handy dandy db (and I know this is a big no-no) into the Master db, but when I do this, it still isn't available and then the same disaster awaits as in #1 above.[/quote]

    1.) Do you have SQL Server 2008 SP-1 installed?
    2.) Are you trying to access from a different PC?
    3.) If yes to 2., can you attach to the SQL instance?
    4.) Can you use some other tool like Access to make sure you can get to the SQL instance?


    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    299
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='789762' date='19-Aug-2009 10:37']1.) Do you have SQL Server 2008 SP-1 installed?
    2.) Are you trying to access from a different PC?
    3.) If yes to 2., can you attach to the SQL instance?
    4.) Can you use some other tool like Access to make sure you can get to the SQL instance?


    Joe[/quote]
    1.) Do you have SQL Server 2008 SP-1 installed?

    yes

    2.) Are you trying to access from a different PC?

    no - same virtual machine has SQL2008/BIDS
    3.) If yes to 2., can you attach to the SQL instance?

    Funny you should ask that - I can open both and the sql server knows who I am. I even set my login credentials to be administrator
    4.) Can you use some other tool like Access to make sure you can get to the SQL instance?

    wish I could - my project would go much faster. I was able to export the XML to another xml file, but I don't think this tells anyone anything.

    I've looked up everything from the specific error (login failed for user...) to creative uses of SSIS, SQL2008 and BIDS. I downloaded the tutorial from MS but I can't install Adventureworks (I know how to fix this, just don't have the time). Everything points to all is okay, until I go to find the table in my newly-created db.

    Does this help?
    Carpy Diem, it's .

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='garbsmj' post='789772' date='19-Aug-2009 11:10']I've looked up everything from the specific error (login failed for user...) to creative uses of SSIS, SQL2008 and BIDS. I downloaded the tutorial from MS but I can't install Adventureworks (I know how to fix this, just don't have the time). Everything points to all is okay, until I go to find the table in my newly-created db.[/quote]

    Are you shutting down the VM and losing changes?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    299
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='789781' date='19-Aug-2009 11:41']Are you shutting down the VM and losing changes?

    Joe[/quote]

    Joe,

    First of all, thanks so much for trying to help!

    No - everything saves. I did notice something amiss though...When I create a new db, it goes into a folder called, to protect the innocent, Program Files\SQLServer\Mickey1.1\Data. However, when BIDS links to the developer machine(which it thinks is Mama Server), the reference is Program Files\SQLServer\Mickey10.1\DATA. So Mickey10.1\DATA only has the standard master and tmp files. Could this be the problem?
    Carpy Diem, it's .

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    299
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='garbsmj' post='789790' date='19-Aug-2009 12:21']Joe,

    First of all, thanks so much for trying to help!

    No - everything saves. I did notice something amiss though...When I create a new db, it goes into a folder called, to protect the innocent, Program Files\SQLServer\Mickey1.1\Data. However, when BIDS links to the developer machine(which it thinks is Mama Server), the reference is Program Files\SQLServer\Mickey10.1\DATA. So Mickey10.1\DATA only has the standard master and tmp files. Could this be the problem?[/quote]


    Joe,

    You know, right after I typed the above, I went and then went back to the SQL server and connected to Mickey10.1 and voila back in business.


    I owe you a
    Carpy Diem, it's .

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='garbsmj' post='789800' date='19-Aug-2009 13:16']You know, right after I typed the above, I went and then went back to the SQL server and connected to Mickey10.1 and voila back in business.[/quote]

    Glad you figured it out. Good luck with the deadline. Thanks for posting back.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •