Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello, I know how to Set the Start button properties to remove run from the start menu and I know how to use regedit to stop the start button settings from being changed but if I do both then I'll be locking that user setting out of the registry. Is there any way to get into the registry without using the run button?

    Thanks,

    Chris (Hunt)

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    You can use Task Manager (if you haven't disabled that too ):
    - Activate Task Manager.
    - Activate the Applications tab.
    - Click "New Task...".
    - Type regedit and click OK.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='790110' date='21-Aug-2009 12:55']You can use Task Manager (if you haven't disabled that too ):
    - Activate Task Manager.
    - Activate the Applications tab.
    - Click "New Task...".
    - Type regedit and click OK.[/quote]

    Thanks Hans, I don't know where to find Task Manager - never used it and I've probably killed it off long ago. Just realised I can use AutoHotKey to set a keyboard combination to launch regedit.

    Chris

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Press Ctrl+Shift+Esc to start Task Manager.

    Or press Ctrl+Alt+Del. Depending on the way your Windows is set up, this will either start Task Manager directly or bring up a dialog from which you can start Task Manager.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Try "Ctrl-Alt-Del", in all Windows OS's either the Task Manager will open or a selection of other options including Task Manager.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    By the way, even if you removed Run from the Start menu, you may still be able to open the Run dialog by pressing Windows key + R.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='790133' date='21-Aug-2009 14:47']Press Ctrl+Shift+Esc to start Task Manager.

    Or press Ctrl+Alt+Del. Depending on the way your Windows is set up, this will either start Task Manager directly or bring up a dialog from which you can start Task Manager.[/quote]

    Doh! . I was thinking of the thing that schedules tasks. I knew about ctr+alt+del but not ctrl+shift+esc. I hadn't noticed the new task option off the file menu before. Using AutoHotKey will be quicker but it's good to know that option. Thanks for filling in a big gap in my knowledge.

    Chris

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Cah' post='790195' date='21-Aug-2009 16:40']Doh! . I was thinking of the thing that schedules tasks. I knew about ctr+alt+del but not ctrl+shift+esc. I hadn't noticed the new task option off the file menu before. Using AutoHotKey will be quicker but it's good to know that option. Thanks for filling in a big gap in my knowledge.

    Chris[/quote]
    You can also activate task manager by right clicking on the taskbar, and then clicking 'Task Manager'.

    You can open regedit by navigating to c:\windows\system32\regedt32.exe
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What's more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  9. #9
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,421
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='NYIntensity' post='791306' date='29-Aug-2009 17:54']You can open regedit by navigating to c:\windows\system32\regedt32.exe[/quote]
    Or, better, and with identical results, C:\windows\regedit.exe !
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='BATcher' post='791313' date='29-Aug-2009 14:30']Or, better, and with identical results, C:\windows\regedit.exe ![/quote]

    Hmm. I didn't know that was there
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What's more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Washington NJ, USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cah View Post
    Is there any way to get into the registry without using the run button?

    Thanks,

    Chris (Hunt)
    Why, sure! Just create a shortcut to "C:\WINDOWS\RegEdit.EXE" and launch same.
    The Elephant says, "Tusk, tusk!".

    ---End---

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Or create a .REG file with the registry changes you want to make and double-click it

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, Texas
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    One additional option is to start a command prompt window and then type regedit as a command.c

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    You can also access the registry using a VBA programm, see for example this thread on codeguru

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    One of the things that strikes me reading this thread is (which I already knew, of course) that Windows is never usually content with leaving you only one way of doing something!

    Ian


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •