Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    A little different from what I see in this forum so hope it's a suitable question!

    Am cancelling our dial up service, having been on high speed cable for a while. Is there a way to determine which address book contacts in Windows Mail are dial up ones, using the dial up address, and which are not? I want to notify any that might still have our old address about the new address.

    Thanks for any help you can offer!

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Why not just send out one email to all the people in your address book stating just what you did here and asking everyone to change the address for you to your new high speed ISP email address.

    Or are you keeping secret admirers seperated ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    The address book itself does not distinguish between the two.

    If you're using different e-mail accounts for dial-up and cable, you could go through your e-mails to see which contacts have sent messages to the dial-up account.

    Or you could simply send a short message to all your contacts to use only the new address from now on.

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Thanks, Doc and Hans. I was trying to avoid sending out a blanket email as I used the dial up at times for contacts I really didn't want to know the permanent address!! Looks as if there is no easy way to distinguish between them, however. I'll try Hans' suggestion and, failing that, do a sort of contacts so only the "keepers" get the reminder!!

    Appreciate your prompt replies! Don't know how people cope without these forums!

    Linda

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Runcorn, Cheshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by IreneLinda' post='790266 View Post
    Appreciate your prompt replies! Don't know how people cope without these forums!

    Linda
    Likewise. This is such a great [s]resource[/s] group of people!

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    [quote name='Gfamily' post='790276' date='22-Aug-2009 19:09']You can add 'Account' as a column header on your WM inbox and folders; by sorting on that column you should be able to see which of your contacts are using that account.


    Likewise. This is such a great [s]resource[/s] group of people![/quote]

    Thanks for the suggestion. Can't, however, figure out how to add "Accounts". Only "account" I could find was to set up or edit the current addresses (accounts) i use. Or is there a way to do this from here that I couldn't find?

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Activate your Inbox.
    Select View | Columns...
    Among the check boxes you can tick are "Account" and "To" (I think the latter is the one you want here).

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='790387' date='23-Aug-2009 20:42']Activate your Inbox.
    Select View | Columns...
    Among the check boxes you can tick are "Account" and "To" (I think the latter is the one you want here).[/quote]
    Ha! Perfect, Hans. Thanks. It was "To" I needed to show addresses. I learn something (or somethingS) new here every time!! And good thing I did check because Woody's Lounge came up as using my old address. Yikes!

    Linda

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •