Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Capitalization (MSWord 2000)

    When I type text in a Word table it always capitalizes the first character. How do I prevent this? Examples of what I don't want capitalized are: m3, pH, n/a, etc., etc.,
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Morden, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,838
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Capitalization (MSWord 2000)

    In W97, it's Tools, Autocorrect, AutoCorrect tab and there are a selection of options there, including the one you want - it's probably pretty similar in Word2K.
    Beryl M


  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Capitalization (MSWord 2000)

    The problem I am having is only in tables. I do not want first character capitalization in a table cell. I still want to capitalize the first character after a period in regular text (not in a table). Is there a solution?

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Morden, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,838
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Capitalization (MSWord 2000)

    Sorry, you've got me there. The only thing I can think of is to switch off the capitalisation when you start using a table and switch it on again when you've finished with the table.

    You can put it on a toolbar button to make it a single click if you want to.
    Beryl M


  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bismarck, ND, USA
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Capitalization (MSWord 2000)

    This is only a "deal with it" option. Immediately after it is capitalized, press Ctrl+z, which will undo it.
    egghead

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Capitalization (MSWord 2000)

    I have done the "Ctrl+Z option. It works, but if I go back into the cell (or cells) and press the "down" arrow, it capitalizes the first character again - I can't win!!

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bismarck, ND, USA
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Capitalization (MSWord 2000)

    I see your dilemma! But, if I return to a cell that I've done a Ctrl+z to, add some information, and then press the down arrow, I don't have that problem! What kind of editing are you doing?
    egghead

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Capitalization (MSWord 2000)

    If you type in a table cell, leave the cell, then press Ctrl+Z to change case, Word will capitalize the word again if you return to the cell at the end of the first word & arrow down (or up). The only option is to go to Tools/Autocorrect.../ Autocorrect tab/ uncheck the Capitalize first letter of sentences.

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Capitalization (MSWord 2000)

    If I return to a cell that I've done a "Ctrl Z" to, I might not necessarily be adding text to it. The same problem happens again if I press the "down" arrow. You're right, if I add text to that cell, the first character will then not be capitalized, but, I might not be adding more text to it.

    Another example, I type m3 (with the 3 being a superscript). The result I get is M3. If I do a "Ctrl Z" to it, it will go back to m3, but if I now press the "down" or "right" arrow while still in that cell, the end result is m3 (both in superscript).

  10. #10
    BAM
    Guest

    Re: Capitalization (MSWord 2000)

    Hi lil,

    The end of cell mark is an "assumed" paragraph mark so Word will capitalize the first letter. I don

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    193
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Capitalization (MSWord 2000)

    If I type m3 (3 being superscript) in a table it changes to M3. If I select only the M, go to format, change case, and select lower case, it will keep lower case if using down arrow, right arrow, or tab.

    Hope this will work for you.

    Leanne
    <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18>

  12. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Capitalization (MSWord 2000)

    I tried your suggestion. I typed m3 (superscript 3), format, change case, lower case. The result is m3 (superscript 3).

    If the "down" arrow is pressed before "m" - then everything is OK. However, if the "down" arrow is pressed after the "m" and before the "3", it reverts back to M3 (superscript 3). Also, if the "down" arrow is pressed after "3", the result is M3 (both in superscript and a capital "M").

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Morden, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,838
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Capitalization (MSWord 2000)

    I still stand by my 'switch it off while working on the table, and back on when finished' suggestion above - it seems to be the only one that doesn't undo afterwards! (As long as you remember to switch it off whenever editing the table, of course).

    If you'd like a copy of the macro that you would need to put it on a button on the toolbar, let me know - I wrote one to try it out.
    Beryl M


  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,921
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Capitalization (MSWord 2000)

    just wondering, as a solution:

    is there a way to know when the insertion point is inside a table? If so, a number of solutions, probably all with some VBA (which is beyond me) come to mind. For example, a F/R on a list of words that need to be different. When found, see if the insertion point is in a table. If so, treat the word one way for capitalization purposes; if not, treat it the other way.

    being able to tell when one is in a table might have other useful applications. I thought I recalled seeing a thread on this.

    fred

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Morden, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,838
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Capitalization (MSWord 2000)

    This sounds like a good idea - after searching in the VBE for a while I found the following:

    If Selection.Information(wdWithInTable) = True Then
    ...
    Else
    MsgBox "The insertion point is not in a table."
    End If

    I'm not sure how this could be used though - and whatever is done is still going to have to be activated somehow, by running the macro, clicking on a button or whatever. Unless there is a way to get Word to check automatically - maybe 'on_click'? although I think it would slow it down quite a bit if it checked to see if you're in a table everytime you clicked the mouse ...

    Anyone got any brighter ideas?
    Beryl M


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •