Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi all. As I hinted in my most recent post there would be another hurdle not far round the corner well here it is. When I switched on just now Secunia warned of a possible threat which is shown in the first screen shot. [Adobe Acrobat 5.x] I proceeded to download the patch but when I tried to install it another message popped up to say another more "Functional" product was installed therefore the install was being aborted. eg [Abobe Reader 8.1.0] Does this suggest (a) Adobe 5.x should have been deleted before the latest version was installed.( It needs to be deleted now. Why did the latest version not overwrite the former when it was installed? Regards again Dave.
    [attachment=85201:Adobe_threat.jpg]
    [attachment=85202:Adobe_mo...nctional.jpg]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    You may have Adobe Reader 9 installed. This may sound strange, but Secunia PSI searches every nook and cranny of your hard disk, and often finds remnants of older versions of applications.
    Take a look in the Patched tab to see if Adobe Reader 9 is listed there. If it is, you don't need to install a new version, but you might try to remove the remnants of Adobe Reader 5.x. To find out where those are, switch back to the Insecure tab, and hover the mouse pointer over the entry for Adobe Reader 5.x.
    Please report here what you find.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='Silver Fox' post='790173' date='21-Aug-2009 12:43']I proceeded to download the patch but when I tried to install it another message popped up to say another more "Functional" product was installed therefore the install was being aborted. eg [Abobe Reader 8.1.0][/quote]
    If you launch a PDF, what program does it open in? You may already have a newer version of Reader than version 8.1.

    What folder is that Reader 5 located in? It may be an remnant that will need to be manually removed. Unfortunately, when I last tested it, Secunia's scanner did not clearly distinguish between programs in the execution path and those in other folders.

    == Edit ==

    Too slow.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='790183' date='21-Aug-2009 21:15']You may have Adobe Reader 9 installed. This may sound strange, but Secunia PSI searches every nook and cranny of your hard disk, and often finds remnants of older versions of applications.
    Take a look in the Patched tab to see if Adobe Reader 9 is listed there. If it is, you don't need to install a new version, but you might try to remove the remnants of Adobe Reader 5.x. To find out where those are, switch back to the Insecure tab, and hover the mouse pointer over the entry for Adobe Reader 5.x.
    Please report here what you find.[/quote]


    Hi gents... will cover the various points raised in one go. Hans, with Secunia open I looked everywhere for the "Programs Patched" tab but can't see it anywhere which is ironic seeing I have on more than one occasion seen the list. Regarding which version of Adobe I am currently running I went to a web site where I knew there are some PDF files to download and after capturing one to the desktop, right clicked on it then "Open with" and the options clearly shows I have the 9.1.2 version installed. Thirdly I looked in the "Add/Remove programs" in the Control Panel and seeing the 5.x. version there simply deleted it. As for the other four Adobe items in the A/R Programs, do I need them or can they also be deleted? Many thanks Dave. [attachment=85203:9.1_version.jpg] [attachment=85204:Adobe_4_items.jpg]

    ps. What did I do wrong in my last post when attaching the two files that required you to edit it Hans?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    The Acrobat.com entry isn't necessary, you can delete it (but it will probably return with the next update).
    The entries for Flash Player and SVG Viewer are for (legitimate) other apps, you should leave them alone.

    BTW, why do you have both Adobe Reader and Foxit Reader? They serve the same purpose, you need only one of the two.

    [quote name='Silver Fox' post='790196' date='21-Aug-2009 23:48']ps. What did I do wrong in my last post when attaching the two files that required you to edit it Hans?[/quote]
    You inserted the attachments next to each other on the same line. Since they were rather wide, that line became far too long.
    You've done the same in the post I'm replying to now, but since the images are much less wide, it's not a problem this time.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='790197' date='21-Aug-2009 22:55']The Acrobat.com entry isn't necessary, you can delete it (but it will probably return with the next update).
    The entries for Flash Player and SVG Viewer are for (legitimate) other apps, you should leave them alone.

    BTW, why do you have both Adobe Reader and Foxit Reader? They serve the same purpose, you need only one of the two.


    You inserted the attachments next to each other on the same line. Since they were rather wide, that line became far too long.
    You've done the same in the post I'm replying to now, but since the images are much less wide, it's not a problem this time.[/quote]


    Thanks Hans and sorry for pasting both attachments on the same line, I was not aware of the problem they caused and will bear that in mind if I attach more than one screen shot in the same post again. Thanks also for enlightening me about the duplicated programs and which can safely be deleted. Regards Dave.
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •