Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    I have an old 16 bit MS-DOS game that runs fine on my Windows XP systems.

    When I try to run it on my new Windows Vista laptop it displays an error message that says
    Code:
    	 16 bit MS-DOS Subsystem
     This system does not support fullscreen mode. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.
    Is this a configuration issue, or does Vista just not support fullscreen DOS programs?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    [quote name='StuartR' post='790207' date='22-Aug-2009 00:49']Is this a configuration issue, or does Vista just not support fullscreen DOS programs?[/quote]
    The latter (that's progress for you!). There are workarounds - see Workaround to This System Does Not Support Full Screen Mode in Windows Vista - but they don't sound attractive...

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Everything that I can find, says that Vista does NOT support 16 Bit programs.

    http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en...b3-559cec753715

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='790208' date='22-Aug-2009 00:09']The latter (that's progress for you!). There are workarounds - see Workaround to This System Does Not Support Full Screen Mode in Windows Vista - but they don't sound attractive...[/quote]

    Thanks for the workarounds, DOSBOX does an adequate job for what I need.

    I'm off for a game of bridge now, thank you.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,420
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='StuartR' post='790211' date='22-Aug-2009 00:48']Thanks for the workarounds, DOSBOX does an adequate job for what I need.[/quote]
    Is there a Compatibility Mode in Vista, or will you have to wait for that in Windows 7? (No, I don't mean XP Mode!)
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    [quote name='BATcher' post='790231' date='22-Aug-2009 08:42']Is there a Compatibility Mode in Vista, or will you have to wait for that in Windows 7? (No, I don't mean XP Mode!)[/quote]
    There is a compatibility mode, but it doesn't support fullscreen DOS programs.

    [attachment=85208:Compatibility.png]
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,420
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='StuartR' post='790232' date='22-Aug-2009 08:56']There is a compatibility mode, but it doesn't support fullscreen DOS programs.[/quote]
    Oh...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='StuartR' post='790211' date='21-Aug-2009 19:48']Thanks for the workarounds, DOSBOX does an adequate job for what I need.[/quote]
    Did you also download the one called DOS Shell, frontend for Windows. It looks like a nice "GUI" type thing but I don't know if it's necessary or not.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='790244' date='22-Aug-2009 11:46']Did you also download the one called DOS Shell, frontend for Windows. It looks like a nice "GUI" type thing but I don't know if it's necessary or not.[/quote]
    I really don't need a GUI. DOS Box allowed me to create an Autoexec that does everything I need automatically when I start it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •