Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    How can one delete Yahoo’s sidebar "Show results from"?

    Thanks, Acer

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    816
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Which browser?

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    [quote name='mbarron' post='790539' date='24-Aug-2009 18:25']Which browser?[/quote]

    FX 3.5.1

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Some add-ons have configuration options here: Tools > Add-ons > Extensions

    If there are no settings, you might check Yahoo's site to see whether they use preferences in about:config.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    [quote name='jscher2000' post='790543' date='24-Aug-2009 18:52']Some add-ons have configuration options here: Tools > Add-ons > Extensions

    If there are no settings, you might check Yahoo's site to see whether they use preferences in about:config.[/quote]

    Thanks for answering: however, it is not the Yahoo toolbar. When using the Yahoo search engine, on the left side of the screen is "Show results from." I would like to reclaim that real estate.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='acerfmayer' post='790611' date='25-Aug-2009 13:05']Thanks for answering: however, it is not the Yahoo toolbar. When using the Yahoo search engine, on the left side of the screen is "Show results from." I would like to reclaim that real estate.

    Thanks.[/quote]
    Perhaps you could provide some clarification by posting a screen shot. Is this something in the Firefox header/footer or are you at the Yahoo search site?
    Regards,
    PaulB

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='acerfmayer' post='790611' date='25-Aug-2009 10:05']Thanks for answering: however, it is not the Yahoo toolbar. When using the Yahoo search engine, on the left side of the screen is "Show results from." I would like to reclaim that real estate.[/quote]
    Well, I think you can always close the sidebar, whether it is displaying history, bookmarks, or something else. What I don't understand is why it opens in the first place. Do you use a bookmark to get to Yahoo? You might want to right-click it and inspect its properties. If it has the checkbox for "Load this bookmark in the sidebar" checked, try unchecking it.

    == Edit ==

    Whoops, apparently you are seeing an experimental new Yahoo! search results page that I don't see. This article mentions it as part of the "new" homepage: Yahoo! Search Blog » Blog Archive » Testing a New Yahoo! Search Experience. Not sure how it works, I don't see it.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    "Whoops, apparently you are seeing an experimental new Yahoo! search results page that I don't see. This article mentions it as part of the "new" homepage: Yahoo! Search Blog » Blog Archive » Testing a New Yahoo! Search Experience. Not sure how it works, I don't see it. "

    Well, ain't I the lucky one. Thanks so much for your research! I can't figure out how to revert.
    Rather arrogant to present a new page without any choice....

    Anyone else there amongst those who see this?

    Acer

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    citrus heights, California, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='acerfmayer' post='790648' date='25-Aug-2009 14:13']"Whoops, apparently you are seeing an experimental new Yahoo! search results page that I don't see. This article mentions it as part of the "new" homepage: Yahoo! Search Blog » Blog Archive » Testing a New Yahoo! Search Experience. Not sure how it works, I don't see it. "

    Well, ain't I the lucky one. Thanks so much for your research! I can't figure out how to revert.
    Rather arrogant to present a new page without any choice....

    Anyone else there amongst those who see this?

    Acer[/quote]

    I think I found it....... click on VIEW hover over SIDEBAR and uncheck what is checked
    If that doesn't work for you maybe one of these will help good luck

    http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/

    http://support.mozilla.com/tiki-view_forum...s=yahoo+sidebar

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    [quote name='dohmixer' post='790683' date='25-Aug-2009 23:39']I think I found it....... click on VIEW hover over SIDEBAR and uncheck what is checked
    If that doesn't work for you maybe one of these will help good luck

    http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/

    http://support.mozilla.com/tiki-view_forum...s=yahoo+sidebar[/quote]

    Thank you for your post.

    This is a Yahoo issue, not Firefox so, unfortunately, the Bookmark solution doesn't apply.

    Acer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •