Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: merging tables?

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Typing "merge tables" into the Word 2007 help search field yields no titles of relevance. (I rarely find the help search function very helpful)
    I have two tables that are very close to one another, and I would like to attach them. Layout>Merge only offers Merge Cells. The only table function I see is Split Table.

    Can anyone help me out?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    First, make sure that both tables are inline with text. If they are floating, you can't easily merge them.
    Position the insertion point between the two tables and press the Delete key.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    I would add to HansV's directions that you might want to ensure that the column widths are identical before appending the second table to the first. It is difficult to fix after the fact.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,055
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    [quote name='jscher2000' post='791216' date='29-Aug-2009 06:45']I would add to HansV's directions that you might want to ensure that the column widths are identical before appending the second table to the first. It is difficult to fix after the fact.[/quote]
    One also needs to be mindful of differrences in table Styles in Word 2007. AFAIK you can't join two tables if their Styles differ. Here's a macro to go though the document an make the Styles of any two adjoining tables the same, working from the premise that the 1st table's Style is to be applied to the 2nd table also.
    Code:
    Sub JoinTables()
    Dim oTbl As Table
    With ActiveDocument
      For Each oTbl In .Tables
    	If oTbl.Range.Next.Information(wdWithInTable) Then _
    	  oTbl.Range.Next.Style = oTbl.Style
      Next
    End With
    End Sub
    In my testing, this joins the two adjoining tables, even if their widths/alignment differ.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I have two tables that are very close to one another, and I would like to attach them
    I would just cut and paste one of the tables below the other and they should be come one. I have never seen anything on merging tables in all of the versions of Word that I have used.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='DaveA' post='791235' date='29-Aug-2009 00:43']I would just cut and paste one of the tables below the other and they should be come one. I have never seen anything on merging tables in all of the versions of Word that I have used.[/quote]


    Resurrecting this...Tried this in a blank document. I have two tables, each with the same number of columns. Attached one table to the other but Word 2007 still recognizes them as two discrete tables (as evidenced by the table tools cross icon that appears to the upper left of each table), when I want them to be just one.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    In my first reply, I mentioned "First, make sure that both tables are inline with text." Have you checked that?

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Pardon my ignorance- what do you mean?

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Click anywhere in a table.
    In the Layout tab of the Table Tools ribbon, click Properties in the Table section.
    Activate the Table tab of the Table Properties dialog.
    Under Text Wrapping, there are two options:
    - None: this means the table is inline with text.
    - Around: this means the table floats above the text layer and can be dragged around.
    Make sure that "None" is selected for both tables.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •