Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 38
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    I have posted this before somewhere, but still got no solution.
    I have Office 2007 Professional SP2 installed.
    Running on Windows Vista Home SP2

    All applications launch ok.
    BUT
    Every time I try and send or receive email with Outlook (first use each session),
    then Outlook runs through the Configuration routine.

    If I close Outlook down then start it, the same thing happens.

    I have tried multiple solution attempts at this.

    Checked for Trial version Installations of Office 2007 (Often Found on New Laptops)
    Including Uninstall and ReInstall of Office.
    I have tried deleting all shortcuts and recreating them.
    Checking for File ID_000??.DPC in Office 12 Folder
    Setting the Registry entry
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0\W ord\Options NoReReg to be 1
    Unregistered and Re-registered to Windows Installer



    I have not done a Windows Vista Repair though.

    Before I resort to this, has anyone got an ideas what would cause this issue?

    I have Office 2007 Pro running on 2 other machines, one Vista Ultimate and one XP Pro,
    and they have NO problems.






    Andrew

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='AndrewKKWalker' post='791406' date='30-Aug-2009 18:42']
    I have posted this before somewhere, but still got no solution.
    I have Office 2007 Professional SP2 installed.
    Running on Windows Vista Home SP2

    All applications launch ok.
    BUT
    Every time I try and send or receive email with Outlook (first use each session),
    then Outlook runs through the Configuration routine.

    If I close Outlook down then start it, the same thing happens.

    I have tried multiple solution attempts at this.

    Checked for Trial version Installations of Office 2007 (Often Found on New Laptops)
    Including Uninstall and ReInstall of Office.
    I have tried deleting all shortcuts and recreating them.
    Checking for File ID_000??.DPC in Office 12 Folder
    Setting the Registry entry
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0\W ord\Options NoReReg to be 1
    Unregistered and Re-registered to Windows Installer



    I have not done a Windows Vista Repair though.

    Before I resort to this, has anyone got an ideas what would cause this issue?

    I have Office 2007 Pro running on 2 other machines, one Vista Ultimate and one XP Pro,
    and they have NO problems.
    [/quote]

    Is this the same issue as in Post 777501?

    Did you try the link I posted?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='791411' date='31-Aug-2009 02:46']Is this the same issue as in Post 777501?

    Did you try the link I posted?

    Joe[/quote]



    Yes I did thanks Joe, but it made no difference.
    I have tried using all the information I can find available at Microsoft,
    as well as some other ideas, BUT NO Joy.

    It looks like I am going to have to do one more uninstall and reinstall of office
    and if that doesn't work I might have to do a machine rebuild,
    which is a bit of a pain and also quite time consuming, even more so if it does not resolve the problem.

    I have seen lot's of threads regarding this issue on assorted sites.
    Some fixes appear top work for some people and not for others.
    That fact that so many have had the problem implies it is an MS issue.
    It also appears to mainly effect Office 2007 running on Vista.
    Heh maybe all our problems will be solved when windows 7 comes out.

    And then again ................
    Andrew

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='AndrewKKWalker' post='791572' date='31-Aug-2009 15:17']Yes I did thanks Joe, but it made no difference.
    I have tried using all the information I can find available at Microsoft,
    as well as some other ideas, BUT NO Joy.

    It looks like I am going to have to do one more uninstall and reinstall of office
    and if that doesn't work I might have to do a machine rebuild,
    which is a bit of a pain and also quite time consuming, even more so if it does not resolve the problem.

    I have seen lot's of threads regarding this issue on assorted sites.
    Some fixes appear top work for some people and not for others.
    That fact that so many have had the problem implies it is an MS issue.
    It also appears to mainly effect Office 2007 running on Vista.
    Heh maybe all our problems will be solved when windows 7 comes out.[/quote]

    Are you running all the fixes as Administrator?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='791585' date='31-Aug-2009 21:46']Are you running all the fixes as Administrator?

    Joe[/quote]

    YES and it makes NO difference at all.
    Andrew

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='AndrewKKWalker' post='791742' date='01-Sep-2009 18:15']YES and it makes NO difference at all.[/quote]

    I'm guessing that you have seen the same suggestions as I. Since you've tried several possibilities, I don't have anything else to offer. Sorry.

    The only thing I can say is if you uninstall and reinstall Office make sure you run the setup as Administrator not just an account with administrative permissions.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Unfortunately I am.

    I think what I am going to do this time is to un-install it.
    Then make sure I delete any folders left behind.
    Also clear out as many registry entries I can find before I re-install


    As if I didn't have enough to do
    Andrew

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='AndrewKKWalker' post='791888' date='02-Sep-2009 17:23']Unfortunately I am.

    I think what I am going to do this time is to un-install it.
    Then make sure I delete any folders left behind.
    Also clear out as many registry entries I can find before I re-install[/quote]

    Do you have any older versions of any Office products installed?

    Have you checked the Windows event log or the installer log file to see what if there is any worthwhile information there?

    If you haven't seen this thread - Office 2007 Configuration wizard runs every time I start any Application (word, excel, etc) then you should check it out. There are several different suggestions.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hereís one you havenít tried, and should.

    Start | All Programs | Microsoft Office | Microsoft Office Tools (folder) | Microsoft Office Diagnostics. (Sorry, but I still havenít mastered that part of the screen shots program.)

    If you run Microsoft Office Diagnostics it will go through a raft of tests, which will take a moderate amount of time but not so much that you should plan a vacation, and it may or may not come up with something. It covers all of Office 2007, so whenever you are having trouble it is a handy first stop in troubleshooting.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    [quote name='peterg' post='791921' date='03-Sep-2009 04:14']Here’s one you haven’t tried, and should.

    Start | All Programs | Microsoft Office | Microsoft Office Tools (folder) | Microsoft Office Diagnostics. (Sorry, but I still haven’t mastered that part of the screen shots program.)

    If you run Microsoft Office Diagnostics it will go through a raft of tests, which will take a moderate amount of time but not so much that you should plan a vacation, and it may or may not come up with something. It covers all of Office 2007, so whenever you are having trouble it is a handy first stop in troubleshooting.[/quote]

    Gave that a qo.
    Interestingly, even that had to run through the Please wait while Windows configures Microsoft Professional 2007 process first (so something big time odd going on anyway).
    Results were...
    Known Solutions - Checked OK
    Memory Diagnostics - No Problems
    Compatibility Isseus - No Conflicts
    Disk Diagnostics - No Evidence of Trouble
    Set up Diagnostics - Failed because it could NOT find the
    Compatibility Pack for the 2007 Office system
    File is O12Conv.msi
    No idea why it needs this anyway
    Even when I got this file it refused to use it
    I cancelled that and it continued.
    It said it found 1 problem and fixed it (but did not say which)

    Sadly none of this cured the problem, so back to rebuild I think.
    Andrew

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='AndrewKKWalker' post='791956' date='03-Sep-2009 05:57']Gave that a qo.
    Interestingly, even that had to run through the Please wait while Windows configures Microsoft Professional 2007 process first (so something big time odd going on anyway).
    Results were...
    Known Solutions - Checked OK
    Memory Diagnostics - No Problems
    Compatibility Isseus - No Conflicts
    Disk Diagnostics - No Evidence of Trouble
    Set up Diagnostics - Failed because it could NOT find the
    Compatibility Pack for the 2007 Office system
    File is O12Conv.msi
    No idea why it needs this anyway
    Even when I got this file it refused to use it
    I cancelled that and it continued.
    It said it found 1 problem and fixed it (but did not say which)

    Sadly none of this cured the problem, so back to rebuild I think.[/quote]
    Cheer up! At least you now have a new procedure to follow when troubleshooting, and I have a suspicion that the errors it did report or hint at might bear further investigation.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Unhappy

    [quote name='peterg' post='792000' date='03-Sep-2009 18:14']Cheer up! At least you now have a new procedure to follow when troubleshooting, and I have a suspicion that the errors it did report or hint at might bear further investigation.[/quote]

    Well I un-installed everything to do with Office and Works inc any patches and updates.
    Then deleted all folders relating to Office (inc entries in APPS folder.
    Thene deleted everyhting I could find in the Registry

    Then did Install of Office 2007
    Activated and Run any Updates to SP's etc

    Same issue with Configuring.

    Then I deleted any Office shortcuts and rebuilt them from the .exe files in the Office12 folder.

    Apps opened fine.

    But if I double click on a file to open an Office document, it runs the configuration again.

    Outlook Opens fine until it does a Send or Recieve and then it runs the Config again.
    In fact it runs through it 3 times before it completes.

    It must be some setting that relates to how shortcuts get the information for the associated program.

    Sadly I now have an idea to where the problem lies, but no closer to fixing it.
    It would be nice if uninstall did a complete reser, but it still leaves a load of stuff behind.
    Especially in the registry.

    I suspect a problem is in a file somewhere or registry but cannot find it.

    One solution suggested was to run the Windows Vista Startup Repair.

    NOT sure where this is or how to run it, since the machine came with an OEM setup of Vista Pre-Installed.
    There appears nothing on the Drive.
    Could be on the disk that came with it but no idea where that is at the moment.

    Is there a way to run the Vista Repair without the original installation Disk?

    OR anyone know what could be causing the issue with files.

    As another point of interest.
    If Word is open when I double click on a file I get the same behaviour, but if I drag the file to word then it Opens OK.

    AW
    Andrew

  13. #13
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='AndrewKKWalker' post='792060' date='03-Sep-2009 22:27']Well I un-installed everything to do with Office and Works inc any patches and updates.
    Then deleted all folders relating to Office (inc entries in APPS folder.
    Thene deleted everyhting I could find in the Registry

    Then did Install of Office 2007
    Activated and Run any Updates to SP's etc

    Same issue with Configuring.

    Then I deleted any Office shortcuts and rebuilt them from the .exe files in the Office12 folder.

    Apps opened fine.

    But if I double click on a file to open an Office document, it runs the configuration again.

    Outlook Opens fine until it does a Send or Recieve and then it runs the Config again.
    In fact it runs through it 3 times before it completes.

    It must be some setting that relates to how shortcuts get the information for the associated program.

    Sadly I now have an idea to where the problem lies, but no closer to fixing it.
    It would be nice if uninstall did a complete reser, but it still leaves a load of stuff behind.
    Especially in the registry.

    I suspect a problem is in a file somewhere or registry but cannot find it.

    One solution suggested was to run the Windows Vista Startup Repair.

    NOT sure where this is or how to run it, since the machine came with an OEM setup of Vista Pre-Installed.
    There appears nothing on the Drive.
    Could be on the disk that came with it but no idea where that is at the moment.

    Is there a way to run the Vista Repair without the original installation Disk?

    OR anyone know what could be causing the issue with files.

    As another point of interest.
    If Word is open when I double click on a file I get the same behaviour, but if I drag the file to word then it Opens OK.

    AW[/quote]

    I think your last line has told us your problem.

    When Joe was asking if you were running as an Administrator I think he meant that you must have an account with Administration privileges AND that when the time comes to execute a command you do NOT double click. Instead you right click once, which gives you a drop down menu, and from that you select Run As Administrator. This is something you may use a million times over in Vista, including every command you have described in your posts. Don't double click anything for Administrator privileges. Right click and select Run As Administrator.

    If anyone knows how to produce a screen shot of these things (without using a camera), I would be grateful for the information.

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    [quote name='peterg' post='792072' date='04-Sep-2009 06:54']I think your last line has told us your problem.

    When Joe was asking if you were running as an Administrator I think he meant that you must have an account with Administration privileges AND that when the time comes to execute a command you do NOT double click. Instead you right click once, which gives you a drop down menu, and from that you select Run As Administrator. This is something you may use a million times over in Vista, including every command you have described in your posts. Don't double click anything for Administrator privileges. Right click and select Run As Administrator.

    If anyone knows how to produce a screen shot of these things (without using a camera), I would be grateful for the information.[/quote]

    The odd thing is that this is on my Lap top, and there is ONLY one account on it which is the Administrator Account.
    I am always logged an as Administrator, so not sure why I would have to Run as Administrator.

    I'll check it out.
    The Main PC which has the same settings, is running Vista Ultimate.
    Maybe this is just an issue with Vista Home Premium because this is the only place it does not work OK.
    Andrew

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='peterg' post='792072' date='04-Sep-2009 00:54']I think your last line has told us your problem.

    When Joe was asking if you were running as an Administrator I think he meant that you must have an account with Administration privileges AND that when the time comes to execute a command you do NOT double click. Instead you right click once, which gives you a drop down menu, and from that you select Run As Administrator. This is something you may use a million times over in Vista, including every command you have described in your posts. Don't double click anything for Administrator privileges. Right click and select Run As Administrator.

    If anyone knows how to produce a screen shot of these things (without using a camera), I would be grateful for the information.[/quote]

    If you are running Vista or Win7, do you have the snipping tool enabled?

    Joe
    Joe

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •