Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I'm trying to create a batch file that runs from an autoloaded CD on either XP or Vista. Is there some way to determine which OS is running from within a batch file?

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Try this:

    [codebox]@echo off

    ver | find "2003" > nul
    if %ERRORLEVEL% == 0 goto ver_2003

    ver | find "XP" > nul
    if %ERRORLEVEL% == 0 goto ver_xp

    ver | find "2000" > nul
    if %ERRORLEVEL% == 0 goto ver_2000

    ver | find "NT" > nul
    if %ERRORLEVEL% == 0 goto ver_nt

    echo Machine Vista.
    autoload CD in Vista code goes here
    goto exit

    :ver_2003
    echo Windows 2003
    autoloaded CD in 2003 goes here
    goto exit

    :ver_xp
    echo Windows XP
    autoloaded CD in XP goes here
    goto exit

    :ver_2000
    echo Windows 2000
    autoloaded CD in 2000 goes here
    goto exit

    :ver_nt
    echo Windows NT
    autoloaded CD in NT goes here
    goto exit

    :exit[/codebox]
    Jerry

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks a bunch. I'll give it a shot.

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    After giving the code a second look do I understand that finding Vista = not finding all the other?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='Chuck Tucker' post='791417' date='31-Aug-2009 03:50']After giving the code a second look do I understand that finding Vista = not finding all the other?[/quote]
    A better test is to look for the version number... For example XP is 5.1. The full string is [Version 5.1.2600]

    Your Vista Will Vary...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Actually, I'm looking for generic versions of XP & Vista as the batch file is used on various machines with unknown version numbers.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='Chuck Tucker' post='791485' date='31-Aug-2009 15:54']Actually, I'm looking for generic versions of XP & Vista as the batch file is used on various machines with unknown version numbers.[/quote]
    Well, if you don't believe me, work your way through this!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •