Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Recently it appears that Outlook 2003 is retrieving messages from my POP server when Outlook is closed. I will close Outlook and then notice that I receive no messages on my BlackBerry. When I open Outlook, even after a reboot, there will be several message in my In Box that never reached my BlackBerry. I have my Outlook mail set to remove mail from the server, but I do not know how this could be happening with Outlook closed. When I open Outlook there is no Send/Receive action, messages are already in my In Box as if Outlook had been minimized and not closed. This is a recent development. It worked as I expected for several years.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='jimhaynes' post='791440' date='31-Aug-2009 06:14']Recently it appears that Outlook 2003 is retrieving messages from my POP server when Outlook is closed. I will close Outlook and then notice that I receive no messages on my BlackBerry. When I open Outlook, even after a reboot, there will be several message in my In Box that never reached my BlackBerry. I have my Outlook mail set to remove mail from the server, but I do not know how this could be happening with Outlook closed. When I open Outlook there is no Send/Receive action, messages are already in my In Box as if Outlook had been minimized and not closed. This is a recent development. It worked as I expected for several years.[/quote]

    After a few seconds use Task Manager to check if Outlook.exe is still a running process. If it is you probably have an addon that is not allowing Outlook to exit.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    You are correct Outlook continues as a running process. How do I determine which Add-on might be causing this problem. Will just unchecking one at a time and then exiting Outlook do it?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Either disable them one by one and see if the problem goes away when you exit Outlook, or disable all of them, then enable them again one by one.
    Both methods are tedious, but that's not to be helped...

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='791562' date='31-Aug-2009 15:35']Either disable them one by one and see if the problem goes away when you exit Outlook, or disable all of them, then enable them again one by one.
    Both methods are tedious, but that's not to be helped...[/quote]
    I disabled each one by one. The Outlook process continues to run. The Outlook icon continues to run in the system tray.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Have you tested both "ordinary" add-ins and COM add-ins? Both can be managed from Tools | Options... > Other tab > Advanced Options...

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='jimhaynes' post='791564' date='31-Aug-2009 13:00']I disabled each one by one. The Outlook process continues to run. The Outlook icon continues to run in the system tray.[/quote]
    The program using Outlook may be external. Are you running the Blackberry desktop redirector?

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='791570' date='31-Aug-2009 16:15']Have you tested both "ordinary" add-ins and COM add-ins? Both can be managed from Tools | Options... > Other tab > Advanced Options...[/quote]
    All Add-ins including COM add-ins are disabled and still the Outlook process runs after closing Outlook. The Outlook icon contues to be displayed in the system tray

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='jscher2000' post='791575' date='31-Aug-2009 16:19']The program using Outlook may be external. Are you running the Blackberry desktop redirector?[/quote]
    Not that I am aware of.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Other possible culprits:
    - WinFax
    - Your antivirus program

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='791582' date='31-Aug-2009 16:35']Other possible culprits:
    - WinFax
    - Your antivirus program[/quote]
    I am not using WinFax and am not aware of anything that has changed in Zone Alarm Security Suite.
    If I restart the computer, Outlook only appears in the Process after I start Outlook.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    I'm afraid I'm out of ideas. I hope that someone else will come up with a helpful suggestion.

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='791588' date='31-Aug-2009 16:53']I'm afraid I'm out of ideas. I hope that someone else will come up with a helpful suggestion.[/quote]
    I have just successfully closed Outlook leaving no Outlook process or icon in the tray. I have no idea what cause the proble but will report back if I figure it out.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •