Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    For years VBA has brought up the printer property dialog box and users can switch to duplex. Now, with a new printer that is no longer possible. Dialog box comes up and they set Duplex - and it gets ignored. Now the really odd thing is, if they go File/Print/Properties and switch to Duplex and print it works? Any idea why the VBA one doesn't work?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    From which application are you trying to do this?
    And what is the make and type of the new printer?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='791617' date='01-Sep-2009 00:07']From which application are you trying to do this?
    And what is the make and type of the new printer?[/quote]
    It is from Word and it is a Konica printer. The old one was a Konica 7130 and they have gone to a bizhub

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='Judith_Kiwi08' post='791615' date='31-Aug-2009 16:02']For years VBA has brought up the printer property dialog box and users can switch to duplex. Now, with a new printer that is no longer possible. Dialog box comes up and they set Duplex - and it gets ignored.[/quote]
    How does your code interact with the printer properties? Is it possible that the driver does not realize that the change settings step and the printout step are the same "transaction" ?

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='jscher2000' post='791882' date='02-Sep-2009 23:00']How does your code interact with the printer properties? Is it possible that the driver does not realize that the change settings step and the printout step are the same "transaction" ?[/quote]
    The code is unchanged:

    With Dialogs(wdDialogFilePrint)
    .Range = pgRange
    .Pages = pgPages
    .NumCopies = NumCopies
    .collate = False
    .Show
    End With

    ie the user then initiates the print.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Since the user is making the setting changes and then printing without closing the dialog, that should work. I don't know why one printer would work fine and another wouldn't. Very strange.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •